Akiko Yano – ごはんができたよ (Gohan ga Dekita yo) (1980)

ごはんができたよ (Gohan ga Dekita yo) is a double album by Japanese art-pop musician/vocalist Akiko Yano, produced by husband Ryuichi Sakamoto and recorded with the remainder of YMO and guitarist Kenji Omura. The album was released in 1980 on Japan Record. Tracklist: A1. “ひとつだけ” (5:42) A2. “ぼんぼんぼん” (6:16) A3. “Coloured Water” (4:43) B1. “在広東少年” (6:25) B2. […]

Yellow Magic Orchestra ‎– Naughty Boys (1983)

Naughty Boys is the fifth proper studio album by Japanese electro/art-pop supergroup Yellow Magic Orchestra, released in 1983 on Alfa. Tracklist: A1. “Kimi Ni Mune Kyun” (4:05) A2. “Expected Way” (4:33) A3. “Focus” (3:40) A4. “Ongaku” (3:25) A5. “Opened My Eyes” (3:39) B1. “You’ve Got to Help Yourself” (0:30) B2. “Lotus Love” (4:04) B3. “Kai-Koh” […]

Ryuichi Sakamoto ‎– Left Handed Dream (1981)

Left Handed Dream is the third solo album by Japanese musician Ryuichi Sakamoto, recorded with Robin Scott and Adrian Belew alongside YMO cohorts Yukihiro Takahashi and Haruomi Hosono. The album was released in 1981 on Tokyo-based Alfa and the following year on US Epic with a revised tracklist. Tracklist: A1. “ぼくのかけら” (4:04) A2. “サルとユキとゴミのこども” (5:11) […]

Yellow Magic Orchestra

Yellow Magic Orchestra (YMO) was a Japanese electro/art-pop trio that released six proper albums and a live disc between 1978 and 1983 on Alfa. They were formed by veteran multi-instrumentalist Haruomi Hosono (ex-Apryl Fool, Happy End) and featured drummer Yukihiro Takahashi (ex-Sadistic Mika Band). During YMO’s initial run, singer and keyboardist Ryuichi Sakamoto launched a […]

Ryuichi Sakamoto

Ryuichi Sakamoto — 坂本龍一 (Jan. 17, 1952–March 28, 2023) — was a Japanese musician and composer who rose to international prominence in the electro-pop trio Yellow Magic Orchestra, which was initially active between 1978 and 1983. Concurrent to the band’s activities, he launched his solo career with two albums on Better Days and CBS in […]

Yukihiro Takahashi ‎– Murdered by the Music (1980)

Murdered by the Music is the second solo by Japanese musician Yukihiro Takahashi, released in 1980 on Seven Seas. In 1982, the album was given a U.K. issue on Statik with a slightly revised tracklist. The drummer is joined on this release by YMO cohorts Ryuichi Sakamoto and Haruomi Hosono in addition to jazz-rock guitarist […]

Japan – Gentlemen Take Polaroids (1980)

Gentlemen Take Polaroids is the fourth album by English art-rock/New Wave band Japan, released in 1980 on Virgin. Tracklist: A1. “Gentlemen Take Polaroids” (7:08) A2. “Swing” (6:23) A3. “Burning Bridges” (5:23) A4. “My New Career” (3:52) B1. “Methods of Dance” (6:53) B2. “Ain’t That Peculiar” (4:40) B3. “Nightporter” (6:57) B4. “Taking Islands in Africa” (5:12) […]