Akiko Yano – ごはんができたよ (Gohan ga Dekita yo) (1980)

ごはんができたよ (Gohan ga Dekita yo) is a double album by Japanese art-pop musician/vocalist Akiko Yano, produced by husband Ryuichi Sakamoto and recorded with the remainder of YMO and guitarist Kenji Omura. The album was released in 1980 on Japan Record. Tracklist: A1. “ひとつだけ” (5:42) A2. “ぼんぼんぼん” (6:16) A3. “Coloured Water” (4:43) B1. “在広東少年” (6:25) B2. […]

Pizzicato Five ‎– Couples (1987)

Couples is the debut album by Japanese art-pop band Pizzicato Five, released in 1987 on CBS/Sony. Tracklist: 1. “Magical Connection” (2:47) 2. “Summertime, Summertime” (3:36) 3. “They All Laughed” (3:27) 4. “Serial Stories” (4:22) 5. “The Apartment” (3:33) 6. “What Now Our Love” (3:31) 7. “Seven O’Clock News” (2:27) 8. “Odd Couple and the Others” […]

Yellow Magic Orchestra ‎– Naughty Boys (1983)

Naughty Boys is the fifth proper studio album by Japanese electro/art-pop supergroup Yellow Magic Orchestra, released in 1983 on Alfa. Tracklist: A1. “Kimi Ni Mune Kyun” (4:05) A2. “Expected Way” (4:33) A3. “Focus” (3:40) A4. “Ongaku” (3:25) A5. “Opened My Eyes” (3:39) B1. “You’ve Got to Help Yourself” (0:30) B2. “Lotus Love” (4:04) B3. “Kai-Koh” […]

Ryuichi Sakamoto ‎– Left Handed Dream (1981)

Left Handed Dream is the third solo album by Japanese musician Ryuichi Sakamoto, recorded with Robin Scott and Adrian Belew alongside YMO cohorts Yukihiro Takahashi and Haruomi Hosono. The album was released in 1981 on Tokyo-based Alfa and the following year on US Epic with a revised tracklist. Tracklist: A1. “ぼくのかけら” (4:04) A2. “サルとユキとゴミのこども” (5:11) […]

Yellow Magic Orchestra

Yellow Magic Orchestra (YMO) was a Japanese electro/art-pop trio that released six proper albums and a live disc between 1978 and 1983 on Alfa. They were formed by veteran multi-instrumentalist Haruomi Hosono (ex-Apryl Fool, Happy End) and featured drummer Yukihiro Takahashi (ex-Sadistic Mika Band). During YMO’s initial run, singer and keyboardist Ryuichi Sakamoto launched a […]

Haruomi Hosono

Haruomi Hosono — 細野晴臣 (July 9, 1947) — is a Japanese multi-instrumentalist, songwriter, and producer who first emerged as the bassist for blues-psych rockers Apryl Fool in the late 1960s. Between 1970 and 1973, he recorded three albums with folk-rockers Happy End. In 1978, co-founded the electro-pop trio Yellow Magic Orchestra, which achieved global success […]

Akiko Yano ‎– いろはにこんぺいとう [Iroha ni Konpeitō] (1977)

Iroha ni Konpeitō  is the second album by Japanese art-pop vocalist/musician Akiko Yano, released in 1977 on Philips. Tracklist: A1. Kawaji A2. いろはにこんぺいとう (Iroha Ni Konpeitou) A3. 待ちくたびれて (Machikutabirete) A4. ほうろう (Hourou) A5. 行け柳田 (Ike Yanagida) B1. 相合傘 (Ai Ai Gasa) B2. ぽつん (Potsun) B3. 昨日はもう (Kinou Wa Mou) B4. 家路 (Ieji) B5. やませ(東風)(Yamase) Credits: Bass […]

Minako Yoshida ‎– Twilight Zone (1977)

Twilight Zone is the fourth album by Japanese singer/songwriter Minako Yoshida, released in 1977 on RVC. Tracklist: A1. “Twilight Zone Overture” (1:41) A2. “Love = 恋” (8:01) A3. “Runner = 駆けてきたたそがれ” (4:20) A4. “Melody” (6:10) A5. “Shooting Star of Love = 恋は流星” (6:46) B1. “Uptown” (3:50) B2. “Raspberry Slope” (3:26) B3. “Say Just Good-By = […]

Yukihiro Takahashi ‎– Murdered by the Music (1980)

Murdered by the Music is the second solo by Japanese musician Yukihiro Takahashi, released in 1980 on Seven Seas. In 1982, the album was given a U.K. issue on Statik with a slightly revised tracklist. The drummer is joined on this release by YMO cohorts Ryuichi Sakamoto and Haruomi Hosono in addition to jazz-rock guitarist […]

Happy End

Happy End (はっぴいえんど) were a Japanese folk-psych band from Chiyoda, Tokyo, that released two albums on URC in 1970/71, followed by a third album and a live disc on Bellwood in 1973/74. Members: 細野晴臣 [Haruomi Hosono] (bass, vocals), 大瀧詠一 [Eiichi Ohtaki] (vocals), 松本隆 [Takashi Matsumoto] (drums), 鈴木茂 [Shigeru Suzuki] (guitar, vocals) Discography: はっぴいえんど (Happy End) […]