Yukihiro Takahashi ‎– Murdered by the Music (1980)

Murdered by the Music is the second solo by Japanese musician Yukihiro Takahashi, released in 1980 on Seven Seas. In 1982, the album was given a U.K. issue on Statik with a slightly revised tracklist. The drummer is joined on this release by YMO cohorts Ryuichi Sakamoto and Haruomi Hosono in addition to jazz-rock guitarist Kenji Omura and pop vocalist Sandi.

Tracklist (Seven Seas):
A1. “School of Thought” (4:12)
A2. “Murdered by the Music” (3:40)
A3. “Kid-Nap, the Dreamer” (3:00)
A4. “I-Kasu!” (1:12)
A5. “Radioactivist” (3:14)
A6. “Numbered From a Calculated Conversation” (4:36)
B1. “Bijin-Kyoshi at the Swimming School” (4:08)
B2. “Blue Colour Worker” (4:28)
B3. “Stop in the Name of Love” (3:19)
B4. “Mirrormanic” (3:33)
B5. “The Core of Eden” (6:25)

Tracklist (Statik):
A1. “School of Thought” (4:12)
A2. “Murdered by the Music” (3:40)
A3. “Kid-Nap, the Dreamer” (3:00)
A4. “Radioactivist” (3:14)
A5. “The Core of Eden” (6:25)
B1. “Bijin-Kyoshi at the Swimming School” (4:08)
B2. “Blue Colour Worker” (4:28)
B3. “Stop! In the Name of Love” (3:19)
B4. “Mirrormanic” (3:33)
B5. “Numbers From a Calculated Conversation” (4:36)

Acoustic Guitar, Electric Bass – Haruomi Hosono (B2 to B5)
Backing Vocals – Sandi (A3, B2, B3)
Computer – Hideki Matsutake
Electric Guitar – Kenji Omura, Makoto Ayukawa (A1 to A3)
Producer, Arranged By, Vocals, Drums, Percussion – Yukihiro Takahashi
Programmed By [Synthesizers], Synthesizer, Piano [Electric, Acoustic] – Ryuichi Sakamoto
Vocals [Vocoder] – Ryuichi Sakamoto, Yukihiro Takahashi
Voice [Quasimutantic] – Chris Mosdell

Lyrics By – Chris Mosdell (A1 to A3, A5, A6, B2, B4, B5)
Engineer [Operating] – “Teppei” Kasai, Toshiro Itoh
Photography By – Masayoshi SukitaRecorded By [Engineer] – Seiichi Chiba
Artwork By [Art Direction] – Mitsuru Torii

Artist/Album Pages:

Sadistic Mika Band ‎– Hot! Menu (1975)
Hot! Menu is the third album by Japanese art-rockers the Sadistic Mika Band, released in 1975 on Har...
The Jam ‎– Sound Affects (1980)
Sound Affects is the fifth album by English New Wave/pop-rock trio The Jam, released in 1980 on Poly...
Earth, Wind & Fire ‎– Faces (1980)
Faces is the tenth studio album by American soul/funk ensemble Earth, Wind & Fire, released in 1...
Mo.Do. ‎– La Scimmia Sulla Schiena del Re (1980)
La Scimmia Sulla Schiena del Re is an album by Italian avant-garde/art-rock combo Mo.Do., released i...
The Associates ‎– The Affectionate Punch (1980)
The Affectionate Punch is a 1980 album by Scottish duo The Associates. Joining the team of Billy Mac...
Ryuichi Sakamoto
Ryuichi Sakamoto — 坂本龍一 (Jan. 17, 1952–March 28, 2023) — was a Japanese musician and composer who ...
Reckless ‎– Reckless (1980)
Reckless is the debut album by the namesake Canadian hard-rock band, released in 1980 on EMI. The al...
Freeez ‎– Southern Freeez (1980)
Southern Freeez is the first of two albums by English synth-funk band Freeez, released in 1980 on Be...
Talking Heads – Remain in Light (1980)
Remain in Light is the fourth album by American New Wave/art-rock band Talking Heads, released in 19...
Dire Straits – Making Movies (1980)
Making Movies is the third album by English band Dire Straits, released in 1980 on Vertigo/Warner Br...
Akiko Yano ‎– いろはにこんぺいとう [Iroha ni Konpeitō] (1977)
Iroha ni Konpeitō  is the second album by Japanese art-pop vocalist/musician Akiko Yano, released in...
John Foxx ‎– Metamatic (1980)
Metamatic is the debut solo album by former Ultravox frontman John Foxx, released in 1980 on his tra...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *