Yellow Magic Orchestra ‎– Naughty Boys (1983)

Naughty Boys is the fifth proper studio album by Japanese electro/art-pop supergroup Yellow Magic Orchestra, released in 1983 on Alfa. Tracklist: A1. “Kimi Ni Mune Kyun” (4:05) A2. “Expected Way” (4:33) A3. “Focus” (3:40) A4. “Ongaku” (3:25) A5. “Opened My Eyes” (3:39) B1. “You’ve Got to Help Yourself” (0:30) B2. “Lotus Love” (4:04) B3. “Kai-Koh” […]

Ryuichi Sakamoto ‎– Left Handed Dream (1981)

Left Handed Dream is the third solo album by Japanese musician Ryuichi Sakamoto, recorded with Robin Scott and Adrian Belew alongside YMO cohorts Yukihiro Takahashi and Haruomi Hosono. The album was released in 1981 on Tokyo-based Alfa and the following year on US Epic with a revised tracklist. Tracklist: A1. “ぼくのかけら” (4:04) A2. “サルとユキとゴミのこども” (5:11) […]

Yukihiro Takahashi

Yukihiro Takahashi — 高橋幸宏 (June 6, 1952 — January 11, 2023) — was a Japanese drummer, percussionist, vocalist, and songwriter who played in the Sadistic Mika Band/Sadistics during the mid-to-late 1970s. In 1978, he co-founded the electro-pop super-trio Yellow Magic Orchestra with veteran musician Haruomi Hosono and rising star Ryuichi Sakamoto. He concurrently launched a […]

Yellow Magic Orchestra

Yellow Magic Orchestra (YMO) was a Japanese electro/art-pop trio that released six proper albums and a live disc between 1978 and 1983 on Alfa. They were formed by veteran multi-instrumentalist Haruomi Hosono (ex-Apryl Fool, Happy End) and featured drummer Yukihiro Takahashi (ex-Sadistic Mika Band). During YMO’s initial run, singer and keyboardist Ryuichi Sakamoto launched a […]

Sadistic Mika Band

Sadistic Mika Band was a Japanese art-pop/funk sextet that released three albums on Doughnut between 1973 and 1975. Their second and third albums — Black Ship (1974) and Hot! Menu (1975) — also got pressed on Harvest (UK/US). After the departure of singer Mika Kato and guitarist/singer Kazuhiko Kato, the remaining band shorted the name […]

Sadistic Mika Band ‎– Hot! Menu (1975)

Hot! Menu is the third album by Japanese art-rockers the Sadistic Mika Band, released in 1975 on Harvest. Tracklist: A1. “Time to Noodle” A2. “Mummy Doesn’t Go to Parties Since Daddy Died” A3. “Aquablue” A4. “Mada Mada Samba” A5. “Hi Jack (I’m Just Dying)” B1. “Okinawa (Strange Fish)” B2. “Style Is Changing” B3. “Funkee Mahjong” B4. […]

Sadistic Mika Band ‎– Black Ship (1974)

黒船 (Kurofune) is the second album by Japanese art-rock/funk sextet the Sadistic Mika Band, released in 1974 on Doughnut. A U.K./U.S. version of the album titled Black Ship was issued on Harvest. Tracklist: A1. “Sumie No Kuni E” (9:10) A2. “Time Machine” (4:13) A3. “Black Ship (Second June, Third June, Fourth June)” (6:29) B1. “Yoroshiku […]

Yukihiro Takahashi ‎– Murdered by the Music (1980)

Murdered by the Music is the second solo by Japanese musician Yukihiro Takahashi, released in 1980 on Seven Seas. In 1982, the album was given a U.K. issue on Statik with a slightly revised tracklist. The drummer is joined on this release by YMO cohorts Ryuichi Sakamoto and Haruomi Hosono in addition to jazz-rock guitarist […]