Sadistic Mika Band

Sadistic Mika Band was a Japanese art-pop/funk sextet that released three albums on Doughnut between 1973 and 1975. Their second and third albums — Black Ship (1974) and Hot! Menu (1975) — also got pressed on Harvest (UK/US). After the departure of singer Mika Kato and guitarist/singer Kazuhiko Kato, the remaining band shorted the name to Sadistics for three further albums on Invitation during the late 1970s.

Members: 加藤和彦 [Kazuhiko Kato] (guitar, synthesizer, vocals), 福井ミカ [Mika Fukui] (vocals), 高中正義 [Masayoshi Takanaka] (guitar, synthesizer, Mellotron), Rey Ohara (bass, marimba), 高橋幸宏 [Yukihiro Takahashi] (drums), Hiro Tsunoda (drums)

The Sadistic Mika Band was formed in Osaka in 1972 by the husband-and-wife team of guitarist Kazuhiko Katō and singer Mika Fukui.

Katō conceived the band earlier that year during a visit to London, where he soaked up the nascent glam scene of T. Rex, David Bowie, and Roxy Music. Back in Japan, he enlisted drummer Hiro Tsunoda and lead guitarist Masayoshi Takanaka. They cut one single, “Cycling Boogie” (b/w “Aurora Girl”), written and produced by Kato with words by Tsunoda. It was released in 1972 on Kato’s newly established self-press Doughnut.

In early 1973, Tsunoda exited and Kato hired drummer Yukihiro Takahashi and bassist Ray Ohara, who both played in the folk combo Buzz with Yukihiro’s older brother Nobuyuki Takahashi. The new five-piece recorded Sadistic Mika Band, released that May on Doughnut. It features nine songs written between Kato and outsider Takeshi Matsuyama, including “Galaxy Way,” “Citron Girl,” “I’m Sitting On the Edge of Ski,” and “Arienu Republic.” Mika contributed one number, “Silver Child.”


  • Sadistic Mika Band (1973)
  • 黒船 (Kurofune) [Black Ship] (1974 • サディスティック・ミカ・バンド)
  • Hot! Menu (1975)
  • Live in London (1976)
  • Sadistics (1977 • Sadistics)
  • We Are Just Taking Off (1978 • Sadistics)
  • Live Show (1979 • Sadistics)
  • 天晴 (Appare) (1989)


Artist/Album Pages:

Motohiko Hino Quartet + 1
Motohiko Hino — 日野元彦 (Jan. 3, 1946 — May 13, 1999) — was a Japanese drummer who played on more tha...
Tatsuya Takahashi & Tokyo Union
Tokyo Union were a Japanese jazz-funk big band headed by saxophonist Tatsuya Takahashi (Dec. 27, 1...
Takayuki Inoue
Takayuki Inoue — 井上堯之 (March 15, 1941 — May 2, 2018) — was a Japanese guitarist who recorded numer...
Cosmos Factory
Cosmos Factory were a Japanese symphonic/hard-psych band that released a self-titled album on Colu...
Hiromasa Suzuki
Hiromasa Suzuki — 鈴木宏昌 (May 26, 1940 — May 21, 2001) — was a Japanese jazz-rock pianist and compos...
Masabumi Kikuchi
Masabumi Kikuchi — 菊地 雅章 (Oct. 19, 1939 — July 6, 2015) — was a Japanese jazz pianist and composer...
Blues Creation
Blues Creation were a Japanese hard-rock band that released a self-titled album on Polydor in 1969...
Toshiki Kadomatsu
Toshiki Kadomatsu — 角松敏生 (born Aug. 12, 1960) — is a Japanese soul-pop musician and songwriter who...
Junko Ohashi
Junko Ohashi — 大橋純子 (born April 26, 1956) — is a Japanese soul-pop vocalist who released 12 albums...
Yutaka Yotakura — 横倉裕 (born June 26, 1956) — is a Japanese-born keyboardist, kotoist, and composer...
Shigeharu Mukai
Shigeharu Mukai — 向井滋春 (born Jan. 21, 1949) — is a Japanese jazz trombonist who emerged as a backi...
Teruo Nakamura
Teruo Nakamura — 中村照夫 (born March 3, 1942) — is a Japanese jazz bassist who released three albums ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *