Japan – Gentlemen Take Polaroids (1980)

Gentlemen Take Polaroids is the fourth album by English art-rock/New Wave band Japan, released in 1980 on Virgin.

A1. “Gentlemen Take Polaroids” (7:08)
A2. “Swing” (6:23)
A3. “Burning Bridges” (5:23)
A4. “My New Career” (3:52)
B1. “Methods of Dance” (6:53)
B2. “Ain’t That Peculiar” (4:40)
B3. “Nightporter” (6:57)
B4. “Taking Islands in Africa” (5:12)

David Sylvian – vocals, synthesizers (ARP Omni, Oberheim OB-X, Minimoog, Roland System 700), piano, electric guitar
Mick Karn – fretless bass guitar, oboe, saxophone, recorder
Steve Jansen – drums, synthesizer (Roland System 700, Sequential Circuits Prophet 5), percussion
Richard Barbieri – synthesizers (Roland System 700, Micromoog, Polymoog, Prophet 5, Oberheim OB-X, Roland Jupiter 4), sequencer, piano
Rob Dean – guitar, ebow

Ryuichi Sakamoto – synthesizers
Simon House – violin on “My New Career”
Cyo – vocals on “Methods of Dance”
Barry Guy – double bass
Andrew Cauthery – oboe
John Punter – production, mixing, recording, engineering

Artist/Album Pages:

Lacrymosa were a Japanese chamber-rock band that released a self-titled album on LLE Label in 1984...
Split Enz ‎– True Colours (1980)
True Colours is the fifth album by kiwi art-rock/New Wave band Split Enz, released in 1980 on Mushro...
Samurai were a Japanese psych-rock band from Tokyo that released a clutch of 1968–70 singles on Ni...
Barbra Streisand ‎– Guilty (1980)
Guilty is an album by vocalist/entertainer Barbra Streisand, produced by Barry Gibb and released in ...
Lily (りりィ) — 鎌田小恵子 (Feb. 1952 — Nov. 11, 2016) — was a Japanese singer/songwriter who released 10 ...
Glass Moon ‎– Glass Moon (1980)
Glass Moon is the first of two albums by the namesake American art-pop band, released in 1980 on Rad...
Slave ‎– Stone Jam (1980)
Stone Jam is the fifth album by American funk ensemble Slave, released in 1980 on Cotillion. ...
Minoru Muraoka
Minoru Muraoka — 村岡実 (1924 — Jan. 2, 2014) — was a Japanese shakuhachi player who released more th...
Akiko Yano – ごはんができたよ (Gohan ga Dekita yo) (1980)
ごはんができたよ (Gohan ga Dekita yo) is a double album by Japanese art-pop musician/vocalist Akiko Yano, pr...
Too Much
Too Much were a Japanese hard-rock/psych band that released a self-titled album on Atlantic in 197...
Real Fish
Real Fish were a Japanese art-pop band that released three albums on Invitation between 1984 and 1...
Halmens were a Japanese New Wave band from Tokyo that released two albums on Flying Dog in 1980/8...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *