Japan was an English new wave band that released five albums between 1978 and 1981. They formed in 1974 when brothers David Sylvian and Steve Jansen teamed with their school friend Mick Karn, whose fretless basslines dominate the band’s later releases. Musically, Japan’s output falls into three distinct phases: the subterranean buzz of their guitar-based […]

Japan ‎– Adolescent Sex (1978)

Adolescent Sex is the debut album by English funk-rock/art-rock quintet Japan. Released on Ariola in April 1978, the album fuses the subterranean buzz of London’s underground haunts with the rhythmic chic of New York’s strobe-laden nightclubs. The songs Wedding the sonics of Eno and concurrent Ultravox to the precision of Kool & the Gang and […]

David Sylvian

David Sylvian is an English musician, singer, and composer from Beckenham, Kent, best known as the frontman of art-rockers Japan, which he formed in 1974 with brother Steve Batt (Jansen). Between 1978 and 1983, they released five studio albums and a live double-LP. Upon their disbandment, Sylvian issued two singles in collaboration with YMO mastermind […]

Propaganda ‎– A Secret Wish (1985)

A Secret Wish is the singular album from the original formation of German electro/art-pop foursome Propaganda, produced by Trevor Horn and released in 1985 on Island/ZTT. Tracklist: 1. “Dream Within a Dream” (8:05) 2. “The Murder of Love” (5:18) 3. “Jewel” (3:10) 4. “Duel” (4:48) 5. “Frozen Faces” (4:25) 6. “P-Machinary” (3:50) 7. “Sorry for […]

Japan ‎– Tin Drum (1981)

Tin Drum is the fifth album by English art-rock/New Wave band Japan, released in 1981 on Virgin. Tracklist: A1. “The Art of Parties” (4:09)* A2. “Talking Drum” (3:34) A3. “Ghosts” (4:33) A4. “Canton” (5:30) B1. “Still Life in Mobile Homes” (5:32) B2. “Visions of China” (3:37) B3. “Sons of Pioneers” (7:07) B4. “Cantonese Boy” (3:44) […]

Japan ‎– Quiet Life (1979)

Quiet Life is the third album by English art-rock/New Wave band Japan, released in December 1979 on Hansa. Tracklist: A1. “Quiet Life” (4:53) A2. “Fall in Love with Me” (4:31) A3. “Despair” (5:56) A4. “In Vogue” (6:30) B1. “Halloween” (4:24) B2. “All Tomorrow’s Parties” (5:43) B3. “Alien” (5:01) B4. “The Other Side of Life” (7:26) […]

Japan ‎– Obscure Alternatives (1978)

Obscure Alternatives is the second album by English funk-rock/art-rock band Japan, released in October 1978 on Hansa. Tracklist: A1. “Automatic Gun” (4:07) A2. “…Rhodesia” (6:48) A3. “Love Is Infectious” (4:10) A4. “Sometimes I Feel So Low” (3:46) B1. “Obscure Alternatives” (6:50) B2. “Deviation” (3:23) B3. “Suburban Berlin” (4:59) B4. “The Tenant” (7:14) Credits: David Sylvian […]

Japan – Gentlemen Take Polaroids (1980)

Gentlemen Take Polaroids is the fourth album by English art-rock/New Wave band Japan, released in 1980 on Virgin. Tracklist: A1. “Gentlemen Take Polaroids” (7:08) A2. “Swing” (6:23) A3. “Burning Bridges” (5:23) A4. “My New Career” (3:52) B1. “Methods of Dance” (6:53) B2. “Ain’t That Peculiar” (4:40) B3. “Nightporter” (6:57) B4. “Taking Islands in Africa” (5:12) […]