Japan ‎– Adolescent Sex (1978)

Adolescent Sex is the debut album by English funk-rock/art-rock quintet Japan. Released on Ariola in April 1978, the album fuses the subterranean buzz of London’s underground haunts with the rhythmic chic of New York’s strobe-laden nightclubs.

The songs

Wedding the sonics of Eno and concurrent Ultravox to the precision of Kool & the Gang and the Ohio Players, Japan forge an unparalleled buzz-funk signature across the album’s ten tracks. The stylistic fusion bristles on the title-track, where Sylvian’s trebly rasp is guided by a spiky guitar figure amidst slick, sliding precision. Elsewhere, the album radiates with the titanium riffage and lyrical stridency of “Communist China,” the angular buzz and exploding chorus of “Transmission,” the sassy swagger of “Don’t Rain On My Parade,” the pulsating heat of “Suburban Love” — which name-checks another influence, Earth Wind & Fire — and the thundering modulations of the epic “Television.”

Few acts have landed on the world with such a polished, confident, and fully-realized first album.


A1. Transmission
A2. The Unconventional
A3. Wish You Were Black
A4. Performance
A5. Lovers on Main Street
A6. Don’t Rain on My Parade
B1. Suburban Love
B2. Adolescent Sex
B3. Communist China
B4. Television

David Sylvian — vocals, guitar
Steve Jansen — drums, percussion, harmonies
Mick Karn — bass, harmonies
Rob Dean — guitar, harmonies
Richard Barbieri — keyboards, harmonies

Ray Singer — production, harmonies


Artist/Album Pages:

Flower Travellin' Band
Flower Travellin' Band were a Japanese hard-rock/psych band that debuted with an album on Philips ...
Yuji Ohno
Yuji Ohno — 大野雄二 (May 30, 1941) — is a Japanese jazz pianist who played on albums by Kimiko Kasai ...
The Jam ‎– All Mod Cons (1978)
All Mod Cons is the third album by English pop/rock trio The Jam, released in 1978 on Polydor. ...
Rush ‎– Hemispheres (1978)
Hemispheres is the sixth studio album by Canadian maximalist hard-rock trio Rush, released in 1978 o...
Gerry Rafferty ‎– City to City (1978)
City to City is the second solo album by Scottish folk/pop musician/songwriter Gerry Rafferty, relea...
Chakra (チャクラ) were a Japanese symphonic/art-rock band that released two albums on Victor in 1980 a...
The Bliss Band ‎– Dinner With Raoul (1978)
Dinner With Raoul is the first of two albums by English/American jazz-pop five-piece the Bliss Band,...
Mariya Takeuchi
Mariya Takeuchi — 竹内まりや (born March 20, 1955) — is a Japanese singer and songwriter from Taisha, S...
Prism (プリズム) are a Japanese jazz-rock band that released four albums on Polydor between 1977 and 1...
Renaissance ‎– A Song for All Seasons (1978)
A Song for All Seasons is the eighth studio album by English symphonic-folk quintet Renaissance, rel...
Lenny White ‎– The Adventures of Astral Pirates (1978)
The Adventures of Astral Pirates is the fourth album by American jazz-rock drummer Lenny White, rele...
Luciano Basso ‎– Cogli il Giorno (1978)
Cogli il Giorno is the second album by Italian musician/composer Luciano Basso, released in 1978 on ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *