Vinegar Joe

Vinegar Joe was an English soul-rock band that released three albums on Island Records: Vinegar Joe, Rock’n’Roll Gypsies (both 1972), and Six Star General (1973). The band germinated when ex-Alan Bown Set vocalist Robert Palmer joined Dada, the prior band of co-vocalist Elkie Brooks and guitarist Pete Gage. Vinegar Joe also featured several musicians with […]


Dada was an English brass-rock-soul band that released a self-titled album on Atco in 1970. They featured the husband-wife team of guitarist Pete Gage and vocalist Elkie Brooks. After the album’s release, co-vocalist Paul Korda cleared way for ex-Alan Bown Set singer Robert Palmer. This ushered a reinvention as soul-rockers Vinegar Joe, which released three […]

Talking Heads – Remain in Light (1980)

Remain in Light is the fourth album by American New Wave/art-rock band Talking Heads, released in 1980 on Sire. Tracklist: A1. “Born Under Punches (The Heat Goes On)” (5:46) A2. “Crosseyed and Painless” (4:45) A3. “The Great Curve” (6:26) B1. “Once in a Lifetime” (4:19) B2. “Houses in Motion” (4:30) B3. “Seen and Not Seen” (3:20) […]

The Alan Bown ‎– The Alan Bown! (1969)

The Alan Bown! is the second album by the rock/soul ensemble led by English trumpeter Alan Bown, released in 1969 on Deram. The album features vocals by a young Robert Palmer, who replaced breakout star Jess Roden for these sessions. Tracklist: A1. “My Friend” (3:06)* A2. “Strange Little Friend” (2:21) A3. “Elope” (3:21) A4. “Perfect […]

The Power Station ‎– The Power Station (1985)

The Power Station is the debut album by the namesake English/American supergroup, produced by Bernard Edwards and released in 1985 on Parlophone/Capitol. On this release, the band consists of vocalist Robert Palmer, guitarist Andy Taylor, bassist John Taylor, and drummer Tony Thompson. Conceived as a side-project while the two Taylor’s were on break from Duran […]

Robert Palmer ‎– Secrets (1979)

Secrets is the fifth album by English blue-eyed soul vocalist Robert Palmer, released in 1979 on Island. Tracklist: A1. “Bad Case of Loving You (Doctor, Doctor)” (3:10) A2. “Too Good to Be True” (2:54) A3. “Can We Still Be Friends?” (3:37) A4. “In Walks Love Again” (2:45) A5. “Mean Old World” (3:33) A6. “Love Stop” (2:57) […]

Robert Palmer ‎– Double Fun (1978)

Double Fun is the fourth solo album by English blue-eyed soul singer Robert Palmer, released in 1978 on Island. Tracklist: A1. “Every Kinda People” (3:17) A2. “Best of Both Worlds” (3:54) A3. “Come Over” (4:06) A4. “Where Can It Go?” (3:20) B1. “Night People” (4:12) B2. “Love Can Run Faster” (4:02) B3. “You Overwhelm Me” (3:06) […]

The Alan Bown Set

The Alan Bown Set was a seven-man English R&B band that released five 1965–67 singles on Pye Records, including the Northern Soul classic “Emergency 999.” As the psyched-up Alan Bown! they made the 1968–69 albums Outward Bown and The Alan Bown, followed by the 1970–71 Island albums Listen and Stretching Out. They featured a revolving-door […]

Robert Palmer

Robert Palmer (Jan. 19, 1949 — Sept. 26, 2003) was an English soul-rock singer famed for the hits “John and Mary,” “Addicted to Love,” and “Simply Irresistible.” He charted with songs originated by Andy Fraser (“Every Kinda People”), Moon Martin (“Bad Case of Loving You”), and The System (“You Are In My System”). He got […]