The Power Station ‎– The Power Station (1985)

The Power Station is the debut album by the namesake English/American supergroup, produced by Bernard Edwards and released in 1985 on Parlophone/Capitol. On this release, the band consists of vocalist Robert Palmer, guitarist Andy Taylor, bassist John Taylor, and drummer Tony Thompson.

Conceived as a side-project while the two Taylor’s were on break from Duran Duran, the album became a huge commercial success with two transatlantic hit singles. Before promotions had wrapped, Palmer departed and the project was viewed as a one-off until the nameplate was resurrected for one further album in 1996.

A1. “Some Like It Hot” (5:05)
A2. “Murderess” (4:17)
A3. “Lonely Tonight” (4:00)
A4. “Communication” (3:38)
B1. “Get It On (Bang a Gong)” (5:29)
B2. “Go to Zero” (4:58)
B3. “Harvest for the World” (3:37)
B4. “Still in Your Heart” (3:07)

Robert Palmer – vocals
Andy Taylor – guitars
John Taylor – bass
Tony Thompson – drums

Curtis King Jr, Fonzi Thornton, B.J. Nelson, Charmaine Burch – additional vocals
Lenny Pickett, Mark Pender, Stan Harrison, Hollywood Paul Litteral, Mars Williams – brass
Roger Taylor, Jimmy Bralower – percussive effects
Wally Badarou, David LeBolt, Robert Sabino, Rupert Hine – keyboards

Produced by Bernard Edwards

Artist/Album Pages:

Agent Steel – Skeptics Apocalypse (1985)
Skeptics Apocalypse is the debut album by American metal band Agent Steel, released in 1985 on Comba...
Whiplash ‎– Power and Pain (1985)
Power and Pain is the debut album by American thrash-metal band Whiplash, released in 1985 on Roadru...
Savage Grace ‎– Master of Disguise (1985)
Master of Disguise is the debut album by American speed-metal band Savage Grace, released in 1985 on...
Chic ‎– C'est Chic (1978)
C'est Chic is the second album by American soul/funk combo Chic, released in 1978 on Atlantic. ...
The Cult ‎– Love (1985)
Love is the second album by English goth/metal band The Cult, released in 1985 on Beggars Banquet/Si...
Watch Tower ‎– Energetic Disassembly (1985)
Energetic Disassembly is the debut album by American thrash-metal band Watch Tower, released in 1985...
Marc Almond – Stories of Johnny (1985)
Stories of Johnny is the second solo album by ex-Soft Cell vocalist Marc Almond, released in 1985 on...
IQ ‎– The Wake (1985)
The Wake is the second album by English maximalist rockers IQ, released in 1985 on Sahara. Trackl...
Robert Palmer ‎– Secrets (1979)
Secrets is the fifth album by English blue-eyed soul vocalist Robert Palmer, released in 1979 on Isl...
Patanga ‎– Patanga (1985)
Patanga is the only album by the German ensemble of the same name, recorded in 1983 and released in ...
Kate Bush ‎– Hounds of Love (1985)
Hounds of Love is the fifth album by English vocalist/songwriter Kate Bush, released in 1985 on EMI....
Saga ‎– Worlds Apart (1981)
Worlds Apart is the fourth album by Canadian symphonic/modern-rock band Saga, produced by Rupert Hin...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *