Zao were a French Zeuhl ensemble that was active during the 1970s and again at sporadic intervals during subsequent decades. The band released five albums on Vertigo, Urus, and RCA between 1973 and 1977. Members: François Faton Cahen (piano, keyboards), Yochk’o Seffer (saxophone, clarinet, flute, tarogato, voice, piano, 1972-76, 1986, 1994, 2004-present), Mauricia Platon (vocals, […]

Didier Lockwood ‎– New World (1979)

New World is an album by French jazz-rock violinist Didier Lockwood, released in 1979 on MPS. Tracklist: A1. “Vieux Pape” (5:17) A2. “Autumn Leaves” (5:23) A3. “La Manufacture de Sucre Engloutie” (3:52) A4. “New World” (5:02) B1. “The Last Blade of Grass” (4:26) B1. “My Memories of You” (5:38) B3. “Giant Steps” (2:10) B4. “Pentup […]

Emmanuel Booz ‎– Dans Quel État J’erre (1979)

Dans Quel État J’erre is the fourth album by French symphonic vocalist Emmanuel Booz, released in 1979 on Polydor. Tracklist: A1. “Ode aux Rats” (16:02) B1. “La Symphonie Catastrophique” (9:48) B2. “Armoire et Persil” (8:28) Credits: Emmanuel Booz — vocal Jean-Claude d’Agostini — guitar Charlie Charrieras — bass Maurice Mathias — drums Gilles Tinayre — […]

François Cahen & Didier Lockwood ‎– Thank You Friends (1978)

Thank You Friends is a collaborative album between Magma/Zao alumni François Cahen and Didier Lockwood, released in 1978 on Atlantic. Tracklist: A1. “Thank You Joe” (4:30) A2. “Merci Guy” (1:00) A3. “Lettre ouverte a Mr Debussy” (8:15) A4. “Obade a Jean Sebastien” (2:35) B1. “Top Espace” (4:30) B2. “From Bella to Keith” (11:20) B3. “Rêves […]

Clearlight – Les Contes du Singe Fou (1976)

Les Contes du Singe Fou is the third album by French/English symphonic/space collective Clearlight, released in 1976 on Isadora. Tracklist: A1. “The Key” (13:44) —i. The Outsider (5:17) —ii. A Trip to the Orient (5:47) —iii. Lightsleeper’s Despair (2:40) A2. “Soliloque” (5:21) B1. “Time Skater” (15:29) —i. Prelude (1:50) —ii. Countdown to Eternity (4:28) —iii. […]

ZAO ‎– Kawana (1976)

Kawana is the fourth album by French Zeuhl ensemble Zao, released in 1976 on RCA Victor. Tracklist: A1. “Natura” (7:06) A2. “Tserouf” (8:53) A3. “F.F.F. (Fleurs for Faton)” (2:29) B1. “Kabal” (4:08) B2. “Sadie” (3:37) B3. “Free Folk” (10:39) CD bonus track: 7. “Salut Robert!” (12:48) Credits: François “Faton” Cahen — piano, fender rhodes electric […]

Synthesis ‎– Synthesis (1976)

Synthesis is an album by the French jazz-rock ensemble of the same name, released in 1976 on Arc. Tracklist: A1. “Hell” (3:08) A2. “Vane” (5:00) A3. “Sun” (4:48) A4. “City Life” (3:22) A5. “City Song” (3:00) B1. “Feeling” (4:20) B2. “We Need T” (3:25) B3. “It’s No New” (4:56) B4. “Sophie’s Gift” (5:05) Credits: Artwork – […]


Magma are a French chamber-rock/zeuhl band from Paris, formed in 1969 by drummer and keyboardist Christian Vander. During the 1970s, the band released six proper studio albums and a live disc on the Philips, Vertigo, Utopia, and Eurodisc labels. Members: Christian Vander (drums, vocals, piano, electric piano), Laurent Thibault (electric bass, 1969), Francis Moze (electric […]


Fusion were a French jazz-rock supergroup comprised of core Magma personnel Christian Vander, Benoît Widemann, Didier Lockwood, and Jannick Top. In 1981, they released the album Fusion on JMS. A live set from the year prior was released two decades later on Utopic. Members: Didier Lockwood (violin), Jannick Top (bass), Christian Vander (drums), Benoît Widemann […]

Didier Lockwood

Didier Lockwood (Feb. 11, 1956 — Feb. 18, 2018) was a French violinist who played in the bands Magma, Surya, Synthesis, Visitors, and Zao during the 1970s. Starting with the 1976 Music-Zag release Jazz Rock, he recorded more than 30 albums for MPS, JMS, and other labels. Discography: Jazz Rock (1976 • Lockwood) Thank You […]