Speed Limit – Speed Limit (1974)

Speed Limit is the first of two self-titled albums by the namesake French jazz-rock collective, released in 1974 on Le Chant du Monde. Tracklist: A1. “Sleep Walker” (11:12) A2. “Pava” (5:04) A3. “Abra” (2:57) B1. “Spanish Dream” (9:16) B2. “Ballad to Laura Antonelli” (6:31) B3. “Ducky” (3:58) Credits: George Jinda — drums Jeff Seffer — […]


Zao were a French Zeuhl ensemble that was active during the 1970s and again at sporadic intervals during subsequent decades. The band released five albums on Vertigo, Urus, and RCA between 1973 and 1977. Members: François Faton Cahen (piano, keyboards), Yochk’o Seffer (saxophone, clarinet, flute, tarogato, voice, piano, 1972-76, 1986, 1994, 2004-present), Mauricia Platon (vocals, […]

Univeria Zekt

Univeria Zekt were an alter ego of French super-band Magma, supplanting the popular nameplate for the 1972 release The Unnamables on Thélème Philips. Members: Christian Vander (drums, vocals, percussion), Klaus Blasquiz (vocals, percussion), Francis Moze (bass, organ), François Faton Cahen (piano), Claude Engel (guitar, flute, vocals), Teddy Lasry (saxophone, flute, organ), Jeff “Yochk’o” Seffer (saxophone), […]

George Jinda ‎– The Wheel of Love (1975)

The Wheel of Love is an avant-garde/jazz-rock album by Hungarian percussionist/composer George Jinda, recorded with French Zeuhl musicians and released in 1975 on Motors. Tracklist: A1. “American Vogue” (2:07) A2. “Funky Daddy” (4:40) A3. “The Wheel of Love” (4:07) A4. “Goodbye Louis” (4:16) A5. “Dividing” (3:08) B1. “Nostalgia” (3:40) B2. “Funny Side of the Strut” […]

ZAO ‎– Kawana (1976)

Kawana is the fourth album by French Zeuhl ensemble Zao, released in 1976 on RCA Victor. Tracklist: A1. “Natura” (7:06) A2. “Tserouf” (8:53) A3. “F.F.F. (Fleurs for Faton)” (2:29) B1. “Kabal” (4:08) B2. “Sadie” (3:37) B3. “Free Folk” (10:39) CD bonus track: 7. “Salut Robert!” (12:48) Credits: François “Faton” Cahen — piano, fender rhodes electric […]

ZAO ‎– Osiris (1974)

Osiris is the second album by French Zeuhl ensemble Zao, released in 1974 on Disjuncta/Urus. Tracklist: A1. “Shardaz” (4:51) A2. “Isis” (9:35) B1. “Reinna” (4:26) B2. “Yog” (8:08) B3. “La Rhune” (4:10) CD bonus track: 6. “Montréal” (11:44) Credits: Yochko Seffer — saxophone, vocals François Cahen — keyboards Joël Dugrenot — bass, vocals Jean My […]

Yochk’o Seffer Neffesh Music ‎– Ima (1977)

Ima is an album by French Zeuhl saxist/composer Yochk’o Seffer, released in 1977 on EMEN. Tracklist: A1. “Ima” (19:50 — :01–14:30–19:45) B1. “Ofek” (8:12) B2. “Noce Chimique” (12:18) Credits: Bass – Dominique Bertram Cello – Claudine Lasserre Drums, Percussion – Manu Ensemble – Quatuor Margand Keyboards, Saxophone, Vocals, Composed By – Yochk’o Seffer Viola – […]

Zao – Z=7L (1973)

Z=7L is the debut album by French chamber-rock/Zeuhl combo Zao, released in 1973 on Vertigo. Tracklist: A1. “Marochsèk” (7:00) A2. “Ataturc” (6:00) A3. “Ronach” (5:00) B1. “Atart” (3:30) B2. “La soupe” (7:00) B3. “Satanyia” (7:30) Credits: Mauricia Platon — voice François “Faton” Cahen — piano, piano, composer, artwork Jeff Seffer — soprano saxophone, bass clarinet, […]


Perception were a French free-jazz/rock band that released two albums and a live disc on Futura, A.D.M.I., and Le Chant du Monde between 1971 and 1974. Members: Yochk’o Seffer (sopranino saxophone, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone, bass clarinet, piccolo), Siegfried Kessler (piano, electric piano, clavinet), Didier Levallet (double bass), Jean My Truong (drums, percussion) Discography: Perception […]


Magma are a French chamber-rock/zeuhl band from Paris, formed in 1969 by drummer and keyboardist Christian Vander. During the 1970s, the band released six proper studio albums and a live disc on the Philips, Vertigo, Utopia, and Eurodisc labels. Members: Christian Vander (drums, vocals, piano, electric piano), Laurent Thibault (electric bass, 1969), Francis Moze (electric […]