Zao were a French Zeuhl ensemble that was active during the 1970s and again at sporadic intervals during subsequent decades. The band released five albums on Vertigo, Urus, and RCA between 1973 and 1977. Members: François Faton Cahen (piano, keyboards), Yochk’o Seffer (saxophone, clarinet, flute, tarogato, voice, piano, 1972-76, 1986, 1994, 2004-present), Mauricia Platon (vocals, […]

Univeria Zekt

Univeria Zekt were an alter ego of French super-band Magma, supplanting the popular nameplate for the 1972 release The Unnamables on Thélème Philips. Members: Christian Vander (drums, vocals, percussion), Klaus Blasquiz (vocals, percussion), Francis Moze (bass, organ), François Faton Cahen (piano), Claude Engel (guitar, flute, vocals), Teddy Lasry (saxophone, flute, organ), Jeff “Yochk’o” Seffer (saxophone), […]

François Cahen & Didier Lockwood ‎– Thank You Friends (1978)

Thank You Friends is a collaborative album between Magma/Zao alumni François Cahen and Didier Lockwood, released in 1978 on Atlantic. Tracklist: A1. “Thank You Joe” (4:30) A2. “Merci Guy” (1:00) A3. “Lettre ouverte a Mr Debussy” (8:15) A4. “Obade a Jean Sebastien” (2:35) B1. “Top Espace” (4:30) B2. “From Bella to Keith” (11:20) B3. “Rêves […]

ZAO ‎– Kawana (1976)

Kawana is the fourth album by French Zeuhl ensemble Zao, released in 1976 on RCA Victor. Tracklist: A1. “Natura” (7:06) A2. “Tserouf” (8:53) A3. “F.F.F. (Fleurs for Faton)” (2:29) B1. “Kabal” (4:08) B2. “Sadie” (3:37) B3. “Free Folk” (10:39) CD bonus track: 7. “Salut Robert!” (12:48) Credits: François “Faton” Cahen — piano, fender rhodes electric […]

ZAO ‎– Osiris (1974)

Osiris is the second album by French Zeuhl ensemble Zao, released in 1974 on Disjuncta/Urus. Tracklist: A1. “Shardaz” (4:51) A2. “Isis” (9:35) B1. “Reinna” (4:26) B2. “Yog” (8:08) B3. “La Rhune” (4:10) CD bonus track: 6. “Montréal” (11:44) Credits: Yochko Seffer — saxophone, vocals François Cahen — keyboards Joël Dugrenot — bass, vocals Jean My […]

Zao – Z=7L (1973)

Z=7L is the debut album by French chamber-rock/Zeuhl combo Zao, released in 1973 on Vertigo. Tracklist: A1. “Marochsèk” (7:00) A2. “Ataturc” (6:00) A3. “Ronach” (5:00) B1. “Atart” (3:30) B2. “La soupe” (7:00) B3. “Satanyia” (7:30) Credits: Mauricia Platon — voice François “Faton” Cahen — piano, piano, composer, artwork Jeff Seffer — soprano saxophone, bass clarinet, […]