Gong was a French–Anglo musical collective that existed through numerous iterations over a four-decade period, starting in 1969. During the first half of the 1970s, the band operated as a space-rock performance act under the leadership of Australian-born guitarist–vocalist Daevid Allen. Later in the decade, Gong steered toward jazz-rock with drummer–percussionist Pierre Moerlen affixed to […]

Real Life ‎– Heartland (1983)

Heartland is the debut album by Australian New Romantic band Real Life, released in 1983 on MCA. Tracklist: A1. “Send Me an Angel” (3:53) A2. “Catch Me I’m Falling” (3:33) A3. “Under the Hammer” (3:24) A4. “Heartland” (4:56) A5. “Breaking Point” (4:18) B1. “Broken Again” (3:58) B2. “Always” (3:11) B3. “Openhearted” (3:50) B4. “Exploding Bullets” (4:10) […]

Clearlight Symphony ‎– Clear Light Symphony (1973)

Clear Light Symphony is the debut album by French/English electronic/space-rock collective Clearlight, released in 1973 on Virgin. Tracklist: A. “Clearlight Symphony Part 1” (20:12)* B. “Clearlight Symphony Part 2” (20:35)** *(:01–6:05–12:45–20:18) **(:01–3:30–6:08, 6:10–8:52, 9:55–11:38–13:40+18:22–20:25) Credits: Cyrille Verdeaux — grand piano, organ, Mellotron, composer, arranger, producer, bass synth, gong Tim Blake — synthesizer, percussion, engineer, producer […]

Gong ‎– You (1974)

You is the sixth album by Anglo/French space-rock ensemble Gong, released in 1974 on Virgin. Completing the band’s Radio Gnome Invisible trilogy, the album is their final TriMax studio release with founder/frontman Daevid Allen. Tracklist: A1. “Thought for Naught” (1:30) A2. “A P.H.P.’s Advice” (1:37) A3. “Magick Mother Invocation” (2:11) A4. “Master Builder” (6:09) A5. […]

Steve Hillage ‎– Motivation Radio (1977)

Motivation Radio is the third solo album by English space-rock guitarist Steve Hillage, released in 1977 on Virgin. Tracklist: A1. “Hello Dawn” (2:47) A2. “Motivation” (4:05) A3. “Light in the Sky” (4:11) A4. “Radio” (6:08) B1. “Wait One Moment” (3:17) B2. “Saucer Surfing” (4:28) B3. “Searching for the Spark” (5:30) B4. “Octave Doctors” (3:31) B5. […]

Steve Hillage

Steve Hillage is an English guitarist, composer, and producer from London who first recorded under the pseudonym Simon Sasparella in psych-rockers Arzachel, the starting vehicle of keyboardist Dave Stewart (Egg, Hatfield & the North). The two re-teamed in Khan (with bassist Nicholas Greenwood) for the 1972 Deram release Space Shanty. In 1973, Hillage backed Kevin […]