The Who

The Who are an English rock band that released ten studio albums between 1965 and 1982, including the rock operas Tommy and Quadrophenia. They started during the early sixties beat boom when singer Roger Daltrey, guitarist–songwriter Pete Townshend, and bassist John Entwistle evolved from West London hopefuls The Detours. In 1964, drummer Keith Moon joined […]

The Who – The Who Sell Out (1967)

The Who Sell Out is the third album by English rockers The Who, released in December 1967 on Track. Tracklist: A1. “Armenia City in the Sky” (3:47) A2. “Heinz Baked Beans” (1:00) A3. “Mary Ann With the Shaky Hand” (2:28) A4. “Odorono” (2:34) A5. “Tattoo” (2:51) A6. “Our Love Was” (3:23) A7. “I Can See […]

The Who – Who Are You (1978)

Who Are You is the eighth proper studio album by English rockers The Who, released in 1978 on Polydor/MCA. Tracklist: A1. “New Song” (4:15) A2. “Had Enough” (4:30) A3. “905” (3:55) A4. “Sister Disco” (4:22) A5. “Music Must Change” (4:37) B1. “Trick of the Light” (4:11) B2. “Guitar and Pen” (5:48) B3. “Love Is Coming […]

The Who – Tommy (1969)

Tommy is a concept album by English rock band The Who, released in 1969 as a two-LP set on Track/Decca. The songs concern the coming of age of the disabled titular character, whose traumatic inner-war childhood is salvaged by his mastery of pinball. Essentially a rock opera, the album’s concept and songs have formed the basis […]

Pete Townshend ‎– All the Best Cowboys Have Chinese Eyes (1982)

All the Best Cowboys Have Chinese Eyes is the third solo album by Pete Townshend, released in 1982 on Atco. Recorded with help from sister-in-law Virginia Astley and the ubiquitous Ann Odell, the album displays the Who mastermind’s evolving lyrical insights and instrumental artistry. Tracklist: A1. “Stop Hurting People” (3:53) A2. “The Sea Refuses No […]

David Bowie – Scary Monsters (And Super Creeps) (1980)

Scary Monsters (And Super Creeps) is the thirteenth studio album by English vocalist/songwriter David Bowie, released in 1980 on RCA. Tracklist: A1. “It’s No Game (No. 1)” (4:20) A2. “Up the Hill Backwards” (3:15) A3. “Scary Monsters (And Super Creeps)” (5:12) A4. “Ashes to Ashes” (4:25) A5. “Fashion” (4:49) B1. “Teenage Wildlife” (6:56) B2. “Scream […]

The Who ‎– Who’s Next (1971)

Who’s Next is the fifth studio album by English rockers The Who, released in 1971 on Track/Decca. Tracklist: A1. “Baba O’Riley” (4:59) A2. “Bargain” (5:33) A3. “Love Ain’t for Keeping” (2:11) A4. “My Wife” (3:35) A5. “Song Is Over” (6:16) B1. “Getting in Tune” (4:49) B2. “Going Mobile” (3:40) B3. “Behind Blue Eyes” (3:40) B4. […]

Pete Townshend

Pete Townshend (born May 19, 1945) is an English musician, composer, and singer who rose to global prominence as the guitarist and songwriter for The Who, which released 10 studio albums between 1965 and 1982. His first proper solo album, Who Came First, appeared on Track Records in 1972. As the Who’s activities became more […]

Thunderclap Newman

Thunderclap Newman was an English psychedelic pop-rock band that scored a 1969 UK No. 1 hit with “Something In the Air.” Pete Townshend produced the single and their acclaimed 1970 album Hollywood Dream for Track Record, the label run by Who managers Kit Lambert and Chris Stamp. Members: Speedy Keen (vocals, guitar, drums), Andy Newman […]