Soft Machine

Soft Machine was an English jazz-rock band that was active between the late 1960s and early 1980s. They were among the first rock acts to make use of asymmetric and compound meters. Due to numerous lineup changes, the first and final Soft Machine albums feature none of the same members. Nonetheless, the nameplate was passed […]


Centipede was an English avant-garde jazz big-band led by pianist Keith Tippett for the 1971 RCA/Neon double-album Septober Energy, comprised of a title-sake improvisation split across four sides. It was produced by Robert Fripp shortly after Tippet’s involvement with the 1970 King Crimson albums In the Wake of Poseidon and Lizard. The 50+ ensemble featured […]

Astral Sounds ‎– Kaleidoscope (1978)

Kaleidoscope is an album of library music composed primarily by John Saunders with two contributions from Nucleus/Soft Machine saxist/keyboardist Karl Jenkins. The album was released in 1978 on De Wolfe Music under the moniker Astral Sounds. Tracklist: A1. “Omega” (4:26) A2. “Strata” (2:33) A3. “Lazer” (2:16) A4. “Frozen Clock” (2:17) A5. “Kaleidoscope” (2:09) A6. “Glider” (2:26) […]

Soft Machine ‎– Softs (1976)

Softs is the ninth studio album by English jazz-rock quintet Soft Machine, released in 1976 on Harvest. Tracklist: A1. “Aubade” (1:48) A2. “The Tale of Taliesin” (7:22) A3. “Ban-Ban Caliban” (9:33) A4. “Song of Aeolus” (4:17) B1. “Out of Season” (5:30) B2. “Second Bundle” (2:36) B3. “Kayoo” (3:36) B4. “The Camden Tandem” (1:58) B5. “Nexus” […]

Elton John ‎– Tumbleweed Connection (1970)

Tumbleweed Connection is the third album by English pianist/performer Elton John, released in 1970 on DJM. Tracklist: A1. “Ballad of a Well-Known Gun” (4:59) A2. “Come Down in Time” (3:25) A3. “Country Comfort” (5:08) A4. “Son of Your Father” (3:46) A5. “My Father’s Gun” (6:19) B1. “Where to Now St. Peter?” (4:12) B2. “Love Song” […]

Linda Hoyle ‎– Pieces of Me (1971)

Pieces of Me is the singular solo album by ex-Affinity vocalist Linda Hoyle, released in 1971 on Vertigo. Tracklist: A1. “Backlash Blues” (5:48) A2. “Paper Tulips” (3:29) A3. “Black Crow” (3:12) A4. “For My Darling” (3:53) A5. “Pieces of Me” (4:03) B1. “Lonely Women” (4:02) B2. “Hymn to Valery Solanas” (3:58) B3. “The Ballad of […]

Nucleus ‎– We’ll Talk About It Later (1971)

We’ll Talk About It Later is the second album by English trumpeter Ian Carr’s jazz-rock ensemble Nucleus, released in 1971 on Vertigo. Tracklist: A1. “Song for the Bearded Lady” (7:25) A2. “Sun Child” (5:19) A3. “Lullaby for a Lonely Child” (4:21) A4. “We’ll Talk About It Later” (6:19) B1. “Oasis” (9:49) B2. “Ballad of Joe […]