Roxy Music

Roxy Music was an English art-rock band led by singer Bryan Ferry. They emerged with the 1972/73 albums Roxy Music and For Your Pleasure and the hits “Virginia Plain,” “Do the Strand,” and “Editions of You.” Both albums feature keyboardist Brian Eno, who left for a solo career. Eddie Jobson joined on keyboard and violin […]


Ablution was a Swedish jazz-rock band that released a self-titled album in 1974 on CBS. Four of its members played in the earlier one-off Baltik. The band also included two-thirds of English hard-rockers Quatermass. Members: Barry de Souza (drums, trumpet), Björn J:son Lindh (flute, piano), Janne Schaffer (guitar), John Gustafson (bass), Malando Gassama (percussion), Ola […]

Janne Schaffer – Janne Schaffer’s Andra LP (1974)

Janne Schaffer’s Andra LP is the second solo album by Swedish jazz-rock guitarist Janne Schaffer, released in 1974 on Ljudspår. Tracklist: A1. “Dr Abraham” (5:05) A2. “Ugglor i mossen” (2:40) A3. “Scales” (5:00) A4. “Kulan växer” (4:12) A5. “Luftlandsättning Avd. 60” (1:10) B1. “Underhuggaren” (5:40) B2. “Den gåtfulla jungfrun” (4:10) B3. “Ryska posten” (5:25) B4. […]

Ann Odell ‎– A Little Taste (1973)

A Little Taste is a solo album by English singer/songwriter Ann Odell, released in 1973 on DJM. Tracklist: A1. “Swing Song” A2. “Take Off Your Old Face” A3. “Non-Commercial Blues” A4. “Lucky Black Cat” A5. “Children” A6. “Lovely” B1. “I Didn’t Mean To” B2. “Kings Road Girl” B3. “Out of the Blue” B4. “Every Girl […]

Ian Gillan Band

The Ian Gillan Band was an English hard-rock/funk group that released the album Child in Time on Polydor in 1976, followed by the 1977 Island releases Clear Air Turbulence and Scarabus. Their namesake frontman, once-and-future Deep Purple vocalist Ian Gillan, retained the services of keyboardist/co-writer Colin Towns in the followup act Gillan. Members: Ian Gillan […]

Ian Gillan Band – Scarabus (1977)

Scarabus is the third album by the Ian Gillan Band, released in 1977 on Island. Tracklist: A1. “Scarabus” (4:53) A2. “Twin Exhausted” (4:08) A3. “Poor Boy Hero” (3:08) A4. “Mercury High” (3:31) A5. “Pre-Release” (4:22) B1. “Slags to Bitches” (5:09) B2. “Apathy” (4:19) B3. “Mad Elaine” (4:15) B4. “Country Lights” (3:16) B5. “Fool’s Mate” (4:19) […]

Ian Gillan Band – Clear Air Turbulence (1977)

Clear Air Turbulence is the second album by the Ian Gillan Band, released in 1977 on Island. For this album, the vocalist augmented his hard-rock backing band with a five-piece brass section. Tracklist: A1. “Clear Air Turbulence” (7:35) A2. “Five Moons” (7:30) A3. “Money Lender” (5:38) B1. “Over the Hill” (7:19) B2. “Goodhand Liza” (5:24) […]