Deep Purple

Deep Purple are an English hard-rock band formed in 1967. They emerged at the height of psychedelia and played a key role in the development of heavy metal during the early 1970s. Their most well-known songs include “Hush,” “Smoke On the Water,” and “Woman from Tokyo.” The first Deep Purple lineup released the 1968 albums […]

Gillan ‎– Future Shock (1981)

Future Shock is the fourth studio album by English hard-rock/metal band Gillan, released in 1981 on Virgin. Tracklist: A1. “Future Shock” (3:06) A2. “Nightride Out of Phoenix” (5:06) A3. “(The Ballad Of) The Lucitania Express” (3:10) A4. “No Laughing in Heaven” (4:58) A5. “Sacre Bleu” (3:03) A6. “New Orleans” (2:37) B1. “Bite the Bullet” (4:50) […]

Ian Gillan Band

The Ian Gillan Band was an English hard-rock/funk group that released the album Child in Time on Polydor in 1976, followed by the 1977 Island releases Clear Air Turbulence and Scarabus. Their namesake frontman, once-and-future Deep Purple vocalist Ian Gillan, retained the services of keyboardist/co-writer Colin Towns in the followup act Gillan. Members: Ian Gillan […]


Gillan was an English hard-rock/metal band that released a self-titled album in Japan and Australasia on Eastworld/Interfusion in 1978, followed by the more widely released Mr. Universe, which appeared in the U.K. on Acrobat Records in 1979. Between 1980 and 1982, Gillan released three albums and a half-studio/half-live double-LP on Virgin. The band was formed […]

Ian Gillan Band – Scarabus (1977)

Scarabus is the third album by the Ian Gillan Band, released in 1977 on Island. Tracklist: A1. “Scarabus” (4:53) A2. “Twin Exhausted” (4:08) A3. “Poor Boy Hero” (3:08) A4. “Mercury High” (3:31) A5. “Pre-Release” (4:22) B1. “Slags to Bitches” (5:09) B2. “Apathy” (4:19) B3. “Mad Elaine” (4:15) B4. “Country Lights” (3:16) B5. “Fool’s Mate” (4:19) […]

Ian Gillan Band – Clear Air Turbulence (1977)

Clear Air Turbulence is the second album by the Ian Gillan Band, released in 1977 on Island. For this album, the vocalist augmented his hard-rock backing band with a five-piece brass section. Tracklist: A1. “Clear Air Turbulence” (7:35) A2. “Five Moons” (7:30) A3. “Money Lender” (5:38) B1. “Over the Hill” (7:19) B2. “Goodhand Liza” (5:24) […]

Deep Purple ‎– Deep Purple in Rock (1970)

Deep Purple in Rock is the fourth studio album by English hard-rockers Deep Purple, released in 1970 on Harvest. The album is the band’s first to feature vocalist Ian Gillan and bassist Roger Glover. “Speed King” – Explosion! Beginning with a song ending (like Flash and Be-Bop Deluxe would later do). Crashing cacophony, feedback, dust, […]

Deep Purple ‎– Machine Head (1972)

Machine Head is an album by English hard-rockers Deep Purple, released in 1972 on the band’s own Purple Records sub-label of EMI. The album is the band’s sixth proper studio LP and their third with the classic Gillan/Glover lineup. Tracklist: A1. “Highway Star” (6:05) A2. “Maybe I’m a Leo” (4:51) A3. “Pictures of Home” (5:03) […]