Brainstorm was a German jazz-rock band that released the 1972–73 albums Smile a While and Second Smile on Spiegelei.

Members: Rainer Bodensohn (flute), Eddy von Overheidt (keyboards), Enno Dernov (bass), Roland Schaeffer (saxophone, flute, guitar, vocals), Jo Koinzer (drums, 1972-73), Horst Mittmann (drums, 1973-75), Nick Nikitakis (guitar, 1973-?), Rich Schwab (bass, vocals, percussion, 1974-76), Dieter Wichterich (guitar)


Brainstorm originated as Fashion Pink, a psychedelic Krautrock band formed in 1968 in Baden-Baden.

Smile a While

Brainstorm released their first album, Smile a While, in October 1972 on Spiegelei.

Second Smile

Brainstorm released their first album, Second Smile, in 1973 on Spiegelei.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *