Aksak Maboul

Aksak Maboul — alternately spelled Aqsak Maboul — were a Belgian ensemble that released two albums during the late 1970s. The project was headed by multi-instrumentalist Marc Hollander and featured a revolving door of talent from both sides of the channel, including members of Placebo, Cos, and Henry Cow. Members: Marc Hollander (clarinet, drum machine, […]


Placebo were a Belgian jazz-funk band that was active between 1971 and 1974. The band released two albums on CBS and a third on Harvest. Keyboardist Marc Moulin would follow up the project with his 1975 solo album Sam’ Suffy, which has since become a Rare Groove classic. He subsequently played with the bands Cos, […]

Marc Moulin

Marc Moulin (Aug. 16, 1942—Sept. 26, 2008) was a Belgian keyboardist, composer, and producer who was musically active from the early 1960s to the mid-2000s. He is best-known as the mastermind behind early 1970s jazz-rockers Placebo and as part of the early 1980s electro-pop trio Telex. His 1975 solo album Sam’ Suffy has gained rare-groove classic status […]

Cos ‎– Viva Boma (1976)

Viva Boma is the second album by Belgian avant-garde jazz-rock combo Cos, released in 1976 on IBC. Tracklist: A1. “Perhaps Next Record” (1:25) A2. “Viva Boma” (2:35) A3. “Nog Verder” (4:32) A4. “Boehme” (3:17) A5. “Flamboya” (7:33) B6. “In Lulu” (4:08) B7. “L’idiot Léon” (10:48) B8. “Ixelles” (5:02) CD reissue bonus tracks: 9. “Mon rebis” […]

Aksak Maboul ‎– Onze Danses Pour Combattre La Migraine (1977)

Onze Danses Pour Combattre La Migraine is an album by Belgian avant-garde ensemble Aksak Maboul, produced by Marc Moulin and released in 1977 on Kamikaze. Most of the instruments are played by Cos alumnus Marc Hollander, who receives co-billing on certain issues of the album. Tracklist: A1. i) Mercredi matin (0:22) / ii) (mit 1) […]

Placebo ‎– Ball of Eyes (1971)

Ball of Eyes is the debut album by Belgian jazz-rock combo Placebo, released in 1971 on CBS. Tracklist: A1. “Inner City Blues” (6:09) A2. “Planes” (2:56) A3. “You Got Me Hummin’” (6:15) A4. “Humpty Dumpty” (2:31) B1. “Aria” (5:02) B2. “Showbiz Suite” (7:28) B3. “Ball of Eyes” (2:03) B4. “Oh La La” (0:59) Credits: Baritone […]


Telex were a Belgian electro/art-pop trio that released the album Looking for Saint-Tropez on Vogue/RKM in 1979, followed by Neurovision in 1980. Two tracks from the former were appended to the latter for a U.S. issue on Sire. In 1981, the band enlisted the lyrical services of Sparks for the Ariola release Sex. Two further […]