Trifle was an English brass-rock/funk band that released a standalone single on United Artists in 1969, followed by the album First Meeting on Dawn in 1970. Trumpeter Dick Cuthell became an in-demand sessionist in the years that followed, appearing on albums by Nasty Pop, Burning Spear, Delroy Washington, XTC, The Specials, Chaz Jankel, Linton Kwesi […]

Chas Jankel ‎– Questionnaire (1981)

Questionnaire is the second solo album by English jazz-funk keyboardist/songwriter Chaz Jankel, released in 1981 on A&M. Tracklist: A1. “109” (3:53) A2. “Johnny Funk” (4:57) A3. “Now You’re Dancing” (3:93) A4. “Magic of Music” (4:53) B1. “Glad to Know You” (3:40) B2. “Boy” (3:53) B3. “Questionnaire” (5:18) B4. “3,000,000 Synths” (6:27) Credits: Chaz Jankel – lead […]

The Specials ‎– The Specials (1979)

The Specials is the debut album by the namesake Coventry Two Tone/ska band, produced by Elvis Costello and released in 1979 on 2 Tone/Chrysalis. Tracklist: A1. “A Message to You Rudy” (2:54) A2. “Do the Dog” (2:12) A3. “It’s Up to You” (3:25) A4. “Nite Klub” (3:24) A5. “Doesn’t Make It Alright” (3:26) A6. “Concrete […]

Jade Warrior ‎– Way of the Sun (1978)

Way of the Sun is the seventh chronological album by English instrumental/exotica combo Jade Warrior, released in 1978 on Island. Tracklist: A1. “Sun Ra” (3:31) A2. “Sun Child” (2:44) A3. “Moontears” (4:04) A4. “Heaven Stone” (5:29) A5. “Way of the Sun” (5:58) B1. “River Song” (5:04) B2. “Carnival” (2:16) B3. “Dance of the Sun” (4:55) […]

Nasty Pop ‎– Nasty Pop (1975)

Nasty Pop is the first of two albums by the namesake Liverpudlian pop/rock band, released in 1975 on Island. Tracklist: A1. “Stage & Plays” A2. “Play It Loud / I Don’t Know” A3. “Pretty Author” A4. “The Ballad of Doodie Handstand” A5. “Ticking Fast” A6. “The Invisible Kid” B1. “Lady Sings” B2. “Lonely King” B3. […]

The Selecter ‎– Too Much Pressure (1980)

Too Much Pressure is the first of two albums by English Two Tone/ska septet The Selecter, released in 1980 on 2 Tone/Chrysalis. The American issue shuffles the track order and adds the 1979 single a-side “On My Radio.” Tracklist: A1. “Three Minute Hero” (3:00) A2. “Everyday” (3:10) A3. “They Make Me Mad” (2:47) A4. “Missing […]