Be-Bop Deluxe

Be-Bop Deluxe was an English rock band led by guitarist and songwriter Bill Nelson. The first lineup released the glam-inspired Axe Victim on Harvest in 1974. Nelson reconfigured the band as a three-piece for the 1975 album Futurama, comprised of lavish, theatrical rock epics. With keyboardist Andy Clark, they made the 1976 pomp-rock albums Sunburst […]

Be-Bop Deluxe ‎– Drastic Plastic (1978)

Drastic Plastic is the fifth and final studio album by English art-rockers Be-Bop Deluxe, recorded in 1977 and released in February 1978 on Harvest. Tracklist: A1. “Electrical Language” (4:50) A2. “New Precision” (4:30) A3. “New Mysteries” (4:44) A4. “Surreal Estate” (5:00) A5. “Love in Flames” (4:09) B1. “Panic in the World” (5:04) B2. “Dangerous Stranger” […]

Be-Bop Deluxe ‎– Futurama (1975)

Futurama is the second album by English art-rock band Be-Bop Deluxe, released in 1975 on Harvest. Music writer George Starostin likens the songs to “free-form post-Shakesperian monologs.” Tracklist: A1. Stage Whispers (3:05) A2. Love With the Madman (3:12) A3. Maid in Heaven (2:26) A4. Sister Seagull (3:36) A5. Sound Track (6:15) B1. Music in Dreamland […]

Be-Bop Deluxe – Modern Music (1976)

Modern Music is the fourth album by English art-rock band Be-Bop Deluxe, released in September 1976 on Harvest. Tracklist: A1. Orphans of Babylon (3:11) A2. Twilight Capers (4:26) A3. Kiss of Light* (3:20) A4. The Bird Charmers Destiny (1:35) A5. The Gold at the End of My Rainbow (3:50) A6. Bring Back the Spark (3:57) […]

Bill Nelson

Bill Nelson is an English multi-instrumentalist, vocalist, composer, producer, and photographer who rose to prominence as the guitarist–singer of Be-Bop Deluxe, which released five albums between 1974 and 1978 on EMI. He then formed the new wave band Red Noise for the 1979 album Sound-on-Sound. Since 1980, he’s issued vocal and instrumental titles on various […]