The Power Station

The Power Station were an English-American modern-rock/R&B super-project that issued a self-titled album on Parlophone (UK) and Capitol (US) in 1985. Guitarist Andy Taylor and bassist John Taylor (no relation) were then-members of Duran Duran while drummer Tony Thompson had been part of Chic alongside the album’s producer, Bernard Edwards. Vocals were provided by Robert Palmer, who left to resume his solo career shortly after the album’s release. The band toured the album with ex-Silverhead/Detective frontman Michael Des Barres. The project was resurrected by Palmer during the mid-1990s for a further album with Edwards filling the bass slot.

Members: Robert Palmer (vocals), Andy Taylor (guitar), John Taylor (bass, 1985), Bernard Edwards (bass, 1997), Tony Thompson (drums), Michael Des Barres (vocals, 1985)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *