Sector 27

Sector 27 were an English New Wave/art-punk band that released a self-titled album with accompanying singles on Fontana in 1980, followed by three further singles in 1981. The band was formed by singer/songwriter Tom Robinson after the breakup of his namesake politi-rock band. He subsequently launched a solo career, releasing eight albums over the ensuing 15-year period.

Members: Tom Robinson (vocals, guitar), Joe Burt (bass, vocals), Stevie B. (guitar, vocals), Derek Quinton (drums, percussion)

Sector 27 was released in 1980 on Fontana (UK), Vertigo (Europe, Japan) and I.R.S. (North America). It features five songs per side, including the Robinson/Burt co-writes “Mary Lynne,” “Five Two Five,” “Total Recall,” and “Where Can We Go Tonight.” The two opening numbers, “Invitation” and “Not Ready,” were issued as singles. The album was recorded at London’s Redan Recorders and produced by Steve Lillywhite (Ultravox, Siouxsie and The Banshees, XTC, U2) and engineered by Roger Wake (The Kinks, The Move, Gordon Giltrap, Aviator).


  • Sector 27 (1980)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *