Opa were an Uruguayan jazz-rock band that released two albums during 1976 and 1977 on Milestone/RCA Victor. The first, Goldenwings, features appearances by vocalist Flora Purim and guitarist David Amaro. On the sophomoric Magic Time, the band are joined by early Totem member and Latin-funk solo artist Rubén Rada. Both albums were produced by Airto Moreira.

Opa were the brainchild of brothers Hugo and Osvaldo Fattoruso, who had played together in ’60s pop-psych combo Los Shakers.

Members: Hugo Fattoruso (keyboards, percussion, vocals), Osvaldo Fattoruso (drums, percussion, vocals), Ringo Thielmann (bass, vocals), Rubén Rada (vocals, percussion, 1977-82)


  • Goldenwings (1976)
  • Magic Time (1977)
  • Back Home: Lost 1975 Sessions (archival, 2003)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *