Chuck Brown & The Soul Searchers

Chuck Brown & the Soul Searchers were an American soul-funk band from Washington, DC, that released two albums on Source Records during 1979 and 1980, followed by a later round of activity that yielded two 1984 singles on T.T.E.D. Records and three 1986–88 live releases on Future, Flame, and Fun House. In a prior incarnation, the band released two albums as The Soul Searchers between 1972 and 1974.

Members: Chuck Brown (guitar, vocals), John “JB” Buchanan (trombone, keyboards), Donald Tillery (trumpet), Leroy Fleming (saxophone, flute), Jerry Wilder (bass), Gregory Gerran (percussion), Curtis Johnson (organ), Skip Fennell (keyboards), Ricardo Wellman (drums), LeRon Young (guitar)


  • Bustin’ Loose (1979)
  • Funk Express (1980)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *