Gong – Gazeuse! (1976)

Gazeuse! is the seventh proper studio album by English/French jazz-rock combo Gong, released in 1976 on Virgin. The album is the band’s second release under the musical direction of drummer/malletist Pierre Moerlen, who assumed the reigns after the departure of founder Daevid Allen. In the U.S., the album was issued the following year with the title Expresso — a move that prompted the title of 1978’s Expresso II.

A1. “Expresso” (5:00)
A2. “Night Illusion” (3:42)
A3. “Percolations Part1 / Percolations Part 2” (9:58)
B1. “Shadows Of” (7:48)
B2. “Esnuria” (8:00)
B3. “Mireille” (4:05)

Pierre Moerlen — drums, vibraphone, marimba, timpani, glockenspiel
Didier Malherbe — tenor sax, flute
Allan Holdsworth — guitars, violin, pedal steel
Mireille Bauer — vibraphone, marimba, glockenspiel, toms
Benoît Moerlen — vibraphone
Francis Moze — fretless bass, gong, piano
Mino Cinelu — percussion

Dennis Mackay — producer, recording engineer
Stephen W. Tayler — mixing engineer
Jacques Moitoret — sleeve

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *