Automatic Man – Automatic Man (1976)

Automatic Man is the first of two albums by the namesake American space-funk supergroup, released in 1976 on Island. Tracklist: A1. “Atlantis Rising Fanfare” (1:37) A2. “Comin’ Through” (3:35) A3. “My Pearl” (3:41) A4. “One and One” (6:01) A5. “Newspapers” (3:59) A6. “Geni-Geni” (5:33) B1. “Right Back Down” (5:56) B2. “There’s a Way” (5:15) B3. […]

Esquire ‎– Esquire (1987)

Esquire is the debut album by the namesake English symphonic/hard-rock/pop trio, produced by Chris Squire and released in 1987 on Geffen. The album would remain the band’s singular release for a decade. Tracklist: A1. “To the Rescue” (3:58) A2. “Sunshine” (3:15) A3. “Knock Twice for Heaven” (3:30) A4. “Up Down Turnaround” (5:27) A5. “Blossomtime” (6:36) B1. […]

Stomu Yamashta / Steve Winwood / Michael Shrieve ‎– Go (1976)

Go is a collaborative album between Japanese avant-garde/classical percussionist Stomu Yamashta, English jazz-rock/soul keyboardist/vocalist Steve Winwood, and American jazz-funk/rock drummer Michael Shrieve, with contributions from German electronic musician Klaus Schulze and American jazz-rock guitarist Al Di Meola. The album was released in 1976 on Island. Musically, the album synthesizes various elements of the recent works by […]

Automatic Man

Automatic Man was an American space-funk band from San Francisco that released the 1976–77 albums Automatic Man and Visitors on Island Records. Members: Bayeté (keyboards, vocals), Pat Thrall (guitar), Doni Harvey (bass), Michael Shrieve (drums) Background Automatic Man formed in 1975 in San Francisco when drummer Michael Shrieve, fresh of a long Santana tenure, teamed […]