Stomu Yamashta / Steve Winwood / Michael Shrieve ‎– Go (1976)

Go is a collaborative album between Japanese avant-garde/classical percussionist Stomu Yamashta, English jazz-rock/soul keyboardist/vocalist Steve Winwood, and American jazz-funk/rock drummer Michael Shrieve, with contributions from German electronic musician Klaus Schulze and American jazz-rock guitarist Al Di Meola. The album was released in 1976 on Island.

Musically, the album synthesizes various elements of the recent works by the contributing parties, especially the Third Stream exotica that Winwood absorbed through his role on Jade Warrior‘s Waves LP. Shieve’s involvement with the project ran concurrently with his stint in the space/metal/jazz-funk supergroup Automatic Man, which released its self-titled debut album the same year as Go.

A1. “Solitude” (2:57)
A2. “Nature” (2:32)
A3. “Air Over” (2:32)
A4. “Crossing the Line” (4:46)
A5. “Man of Leo” (2:02)
A6. “Stellar” (2:53)
A7. “Space Theme” (3:12)
B1. “Space Requiem” (3:20)
B2. “Space Song” (2:00)
B3. “Carnival” (2:46)
B4. “Ghost Machine” (2:06)
B5. “Surfspin” (2:25)
B6. “Time Is Here” (2:46)
B7. “Winner / Loser” (4:10)

Stomu Yamashta — composer, arranger, synthesizer, percussion, timpani
Steve Winwood — composer, arranger, writer, vocals, piano, electric piano, organ, guitar, synthesizer
Michael Shrieve — drums

Klaus Schulze — synthesizer
Rosko Gee — bass
Thunderthighs — backing vocals
Paul Buckmaster — woodwind arrangements, brass arrangements, string arrangements, producer
Al Di Meola — lead guitar
Pat Thrall — lead guitar, rhythm guitar
Junior Marvin — rhythm guitar
Chris West — rhythm guitar
Bernie Holland — rhythm guitar
Hisako Yamashta — violin, backing vocals
Brother James — congas
Lenox Langton — congas

Phil Brown — engineer
Dennis Mackay — producer
Michael Quartermain — lyrics

Artist/Album Pages:

Yezda Urfa ‎– Sacred Baboon (1976)
Sacred Baboon is an album by American symphonic/art-rock band Yezda Urfa, recorded in 1976 and relea...
The L.A. Express ‎– L.A. Express (1976)
L.A. Express is the first autonomous album by American jazz-funk combo L.A. Express, released in 197...
Blind Faith ‎– Blind Faith (1969)
Blind Faith is the lone album by the namesake English supergroup, released in 1969 on Polydor/Atco. ...
Luciano Basso - Voci (1976)
Voci is the debut album by Italian musician/composer Luciano Basso, released in 1976 on Ariston. ...
Daryl Hall & John Oates - Bigger Than Both of Us (1976)
Bigger Than Both of Us is the sixth album by American rock/soul duo Daryl Hall & John Oates, rel...
Crack the Sky ‎– Animal Notes (1976)
Animal Notes is the second album by American hard-rock/art-rock band Crack the Sky, released in 1976...
Stevie Wonder ‎– Songs in the Key of Life (1976)
Songs in the Key of Life is an album by American soul-funk musician/vocalist Stevie Wonder, released...
Steve Reid Featuring the Legendary Master Brotherhood ‎– Nova (1976)
Nova is an album by American jazz drummer Steve Reid, released in 1976 on Mustevic Sound. Tra...
Morse Code - Procréation (1976)
Procréation is the fourth album by Quebecois symphonic/art-rock band Morse Code, released in 1976 on...
Mingo Lewis ‎– Flight Never Ending (1976)
Flight Never Ending is a solo studio album by jazz-funk percussionist Mingo Lewis, released in 1976 ...
General Johnson ‎– General Johnson (1976)
General Johnson is the second solo album by American soul singer General Johnson, released in 1976 o...
Jon Anderson ‎– Olias of Sunhillow (1976)
Olias of Sunhillow is the debut solo album by English musician/vocalist Jon Anderson, released in 19...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *