Ruphus was a Norwegian symphonic/jazz-rock band that released six albums on Polydor and Brain between 1973 and 1979.

Members: Asle Nilsen (bass), Hans Petter Danielsen (guitar, 1972-73), Kjell Larsen (guitar), Håkon Graf (keyboards, 1972-76), Gudny Aspaas (vocals, 1972-74, 1975-76, 1978-81), Rune Sundby (vocals, 1972-74), Thor Bendiksen (drums, 1972-78, 1981), Freddy Dahl (vocals, 1974-76, 1980-81), Rune Østdahl (vocals, 1974-75), Jan Simonsen (keyboards, 1976-78), Sylvi Lillegaard (vocals, 1977-78), Udo Damen (drums, 1978-79), Kjell Rønningen (keyboards, 1978-80), Bjørn Jenssen (drums, 1979-?)<

Ruphus had its roots in a band called Cat Food, formed in 1970 by flutist Asle Nilsen and guitarist Hans Petter Danielsen. After a sequence of short-term members, the lineup stabilized in 1972 with guitarist Kjell Larsen, keyboardist Håkon Graf, drummer Thor Bendiksen, and singers Rune Sundby (male) and Gudny Aspaas (female). Nilsen took up bass and the band became Ruphus.

In the spring of 1973, Ruphus signed to Polydor.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *