Saluki were a Norwegian maximalist rock quintet of the mid-1970s. Members: Freddy Dahl (vocals, guitar), Peter Berg Nilsen (vocals, saxophone), Kjell Rønningen (keyboards), Sverre Beyer (bass), Bjørn Jenssen (drums) Frontman Dahl had the most active background, first as a member of Junipher Green on their classic double-platter Friendship (1971), followed by time with the George […]


Dream was a Norwegian psych-rock band that released the 1967 album Get Dreamy on Polydor. Guitarist Terje Rypdal embarked on a lengthy career as an international jazz sessionist and ECM recording artist. Members: Terje Rypdal (guitar, vocals), Christian Reim (piano, organ, vocals), Hans Marius Stormoen (bass), Tom Karlsen (drums, percussion) Dream formed in Oslo in […]


Vanessa were a Norwegian jazz-rock band that recorded the album City Lips for the On label in 1975, followed by the popular Black and White album on Compendium in 1976. Members: Svend Undseth (flute, saxophone, guitar), Frode Holm (keyboards), Thorsten Dulsrud (drums), Harald Salater (bass), Jan Erik Pedersen (bass), Knut Værnes (guitar), Frank Aleksandersen (drums), […]


Lava were a Norwegian smooth-rock band that issued four albums on Polydor between 1980 and 1984, followed in 1990 by a comeback on Mercury. A trio of albums on Tylden appeared during the 2000s. Members: Svein Dag Hauge (guitar, vocals), Per Hillestad (drums, percussion), Geir Langslet (keyboards, vocals), Stein Austrud (keyboards), Stein Eriksen (keyboards, 1977-80), […]


Thule were a Norwegian symphonic/goth band that self-released six albums between 1985 and 2004. Members: Jens Morten Søreide (vocals, 1983-85), Einar Jan Larsen (guitar, 1983-85), Even Gaare (drums, 1983-85), Steve Riise Jensen (guitar, vocals, 1985-present), Peer-Einar Pedersen (bass, vocals, 1985-present), Pål Valle (keyboards, vocals, 1985-93), Jens Haugan [Frommholz] (drums, 1986-87), Hugo Barbala (drums, percussion, 1988-present) […]


Titanic were a Norwegian hard-rock band that released four albums on CBS between 1970 and 1975, followed by two titles on Barclay and Souplet during the latter half of the decade. Members: Jan Løseth (guitar, vocals, 1969-75, 1977-79, 1991-present), Kenny Aas (keyboards, bass, 1969-73), Chappy [Kjell Asperud] (percussion, vocals, 1969-74, 1977-79), John Lorck (drums, 1969-74, […]

Terje Rypdal

Terje Rypdal (born Aug. 23, 1947) is a Norwegian jazz-rock guitarist who’s released more than 25 albums since 1968 in solo and combo form, mostly on ECM. Background and Early Bands Rypdal was born in Oslo, Norway, the son of a composer and orchestra leader. As a child, he studied classical piano and trumpet. In […]

Sven Libaek

Sven Libaek (born Sept. 20, 1938) is a Norwegian-born/Australian-based keyboardist, composer, conductor, and producer with a recording career that spanned two decades. Between 1965 and 1986, he released more than 18 albums and movie/television soundtracks. Discography: Nature Walkabout (OST, 1965) To Ride a White Horse (OST, 1966) The Music of Sven Libaek (1967) Australian Suite […]


Ruphus was a Norwegian symphonic/jazz-rock band that released six albums on Polydor and Brain between 1973 and 1979. Members: Asle Nilsen (bass), Hans Petter Danielsen (guitar, 1972-73), Kjell Larsen (guitar), Håkon Graf (keyboards, 1972-76), Gudny Aspaas (vocals, 1972-74, 1975-76, 1978-81), Rune Sundby (vocals, 1972-74), Thor Bendiksen (drums, 1972-78, 1981), Freddy Dahl (vocals, 1974-76, 1980-81), Rune […]

St. Helena

St. Helena were a Norwegian folk-rock/psych band that recorded roughly an album’s worth of material circa 1973/74 that would ultimately be released on archival discs during the 1990s and 2000s. Members: Fezza Ellingsen (guitar, flute), Rolf Andersen (vocals, acoustic guitar), Kjell Are Playm (keyboards, vocals), Ray Briseid (bass), Willy Bendiksen (drums) Discography: Hello Friend (1991, […]

Radka Toneff

Radka Toneff (June 25, 1952 — Oct. 21, 1982) was a Norwegian jazz vocalist who released three albums on the Sonet, Verve, and Odin labels between 1977 and 1982. Discography: Winter Poem (1977) It Don’t Come Easy (1979) Fairytales (1982 • Radka Toneff & Steve Dobrogosz)


Prudence were a Norwegian folk-rock/psych band that released three singles circa 1970/71 on Experience Records, followed by four albums between 1972 and 1975 on Polydor. Members: Åge Aleksandersen (guitar, vocals), Per Erik Wallum (vocals, flute, harmonica), Terje Tysland (accordion, guitar, piano, vocals), Johan Tangen (mandolin, guitar), Kjell Ove Riseth (bass), Kaare Skevik Jr. (drums), Jan […]

Popol Vuh / Popol Ace

Popol Vuh was a Norwegian art-rock band that released two albums circa 1972/73 on Polydor. Upon discovery of the namesake German outfit, the band changed its name to Popol Ace for two further albums. Members: Pete Knutsen (keyboards, guitar), Arne Schultze (guitar), Terje Methi (bass), Thor Andreassen (drums), Jahn Teigen (vocals, 1972-77), Fred Alvad (Hammond […]


Octopus were a Norwegian symphonic-rock band that released the album Thærie Wiighen in 1981 on Octocon. Members: Tore Aarnes [aka Y Me] (keyboards), Olaf Dahle, Henry “Nunne” Holden (vocals), Frank Berg Olsen (drums), Roar Søderlind (drums, bass), Jon Ola Sand, Dag Bjune (bass) Discography: Thærie Wiighen (1981)

Moose Loose

Moose Loose were a Norwegian jazz-rock band that released two albums on Mai and Vertigo between 1974 and 1976. Members: Jon Eberson (guitar), Espen Rud (drums), Jon Christensen (drums), Brynjulf Blix (keyboards), Sveinung Hovensjø (bass), Håkon Graf (keyboards), Trond Villa (violin), Pål Thorstensen (bass) Discography: Elgen er Løs (1974) Transition (1976)


Lotus were a Norwegian jazz-rock band that released a self-titled album on Nor-Disc in 1979. Members: Åsmund Snortheim (bass), Bent Patey (guitar), Ole Henrik Giørtz (piano), Espen Rud (percussion, drums), Finn Sletten (drums, 1976-79), Vidar Johansen (tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone, flute, 1977-83), Audun Kleive (drums, 1981-83) Discography: Lotus (1979)


Akasha were a Norwegian symphonic/space-rock band that released a self-titled album on Bat in 1977. Members: Sverre Svendsen (vocals, Mellotron), Kjell Evensen (drums), Arild Andreassen (bass), Jens Ivar Andreassen (guitars, Mellotron, synthesizer, piano, organ), Tor-Jonny Hansen (lyrics) Discography: Akasha (1977)

Kong Lavring

Kong Lavring were a Norwegian folk-rock band that released two albums between 1977 and 1978 on Nor-Disc. Members: Liv Nelle Solberg (vocals, melodica), Jørn Jensen (vocals, dulcimer, mandolin, crumhorn, guitar), Per Ladegaard (guitar, mandolin, dulcimer), Geir Holmsen (bass), Arne Hågensen (drums), Marit Jordbræk (vocals), Petter Lindstad (drums), Knut Ellevold (vocals, bass), Lars Just Nilsen (recorder), […]

Karin Krog

Karin Krog is a Norwegian jazz vocalist whose career has spanned more than half a century, starting with her 1964 debut By Myself. She has released more than 40 albums on assorted labels in solo, duet, and combo configurations. Discography: By Myself (1964) Jazz Moments (1966) Joy (1968) Open Space: The Down Beat Poll Winners […]

Junipher Greene

Junipher Greene were a Norwegian folk-rock/psych band that debuted to much fanfare with the 1971 double-album Friendship on Sonet. The band’s second album, Communication, was issued by the On label in 1973. One further album appeared on Musikkselskapet in 1982. Members: Bent Åserud (guitar, keyboards, flute, vocals), Geir Bøhren (vocals, drums, saxophone), Helge Grøslie (organ, […]