Duran Duran – Rio (1982)

Rio is the sophomore album by English quintet Duran Duran. Released in 1982 as the band were breaking on a global scale, the album augments their modernist sound with foreign flavors and an overall cosmopolitanism vibe — an aesthetic rendered by the album’s era-defining Nagel cover art.

Maintaining the first LP’s balance of chic singalongs and epic melodrama, highlights of Rio include the poignant balladry of “Save a Prayer,” the topically heady, e-bow-laden “New Religion,” and the anthemic, jet-setting title track. The glacial electro-sparseness of “The Chauffeur” pays ode to the band’s coldwave roots.

A1. Rio
A2. My Own Way
A3. Lonely in Your Nightmare
A4. Hungry Like the Wolf
A5. Hold Back the Rain
B1. New Religion
B2. Last Chance on the Stairway
B3. Save a Prayer
B4. The Chauffeur

Simon Le Bon – vocals, vibraphone (B1), acoustic guitar (B3), ocarina (B4)
Nick Rhodes – keyboards, marimba, harmonies
John Taylor – bass, harmonies
Andy Taylor – guitars, harmonies
Roger Taylor – drums, percussion

Artist/Album Pages:

Polyphonic Size ‎– Live for Each Moment / Vivre Pour Chaque Instant (1982)
Live for Each Moment — English for "Vivre Pour Chaque Instant" — is the first full-length album by B...
Juicy ‎– Juicy (1982)
Juicy is the debut album by the namesake American soul/funk band, produced by Eumir Deodato and rele...
Joni Mitchell - Wild Things Run Fast (1982)
Wild Things Run Fast is the eleventh studio album by Canadian singer/songwriter Joni Mitchell, relea...
Shalamar ‎– Friends (1982)
Friends is the sixth album by American soul/funk vocal trio Shalamar, released in 1982 on SOLAR. Ins...
Lawrence Gowan ‎– Gowan (1982)
Gowan is the debut album by Scottish/Canadian hard-rock vocalist Lawrence Gowan, released in 1982 on...
King Crimson ‎– Beat (1982)
Beat is the ninth studio album by English/American art-rock band King Crimson, released in 1982 on E...
Su Tissue ‎– Salon de Musique (1982)
Salon de Musique is an album of minimalist piano compositions by American composer Su Tissue, record...
Raven ‎– Wiped Out (1982)
Wiped Out is the second album by English metal trio Raven, released in 1982 on Neat Records. ...
Rational Youth ‎– Cold War Night Life (1982)
Cold War Night Life is the debut album by Canadian modernist New Wave/coldwave combo Rational Youth,...
Syncro Jazz ‎– Syncro Jazz Live (1982)
Syncro Jazz Live is the singular album by Brazilian post-bop/samba combo Syncro Jazz, released in 19...
Débile Menthol - Émile au Jardin Patrologique (1982)
Émile au Jardin Patrologique is the first of two albums by Swiss avant-garde/New Wave ensemble Débil...
Flüght ‎– Flüght (1982)
Flüght is the first of two albums by the namesake Mexican symphonic/electronic combo, released in 19...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *