Mandalaband was the symphonic-rock project of English composer/arranger David Rohl. The project yielded a self-titled album on Chrysalis in 1975. The musicians on that recording became Sad Café. The Mandalaband nameplate was resurrected for the 1978 rock-opera The Eye of Wendor: Prophecies, which features Justin Hayward on one track. Members: David Rohl (keyboards), David Durant […]

Mandalaband ‎– The Eye of Wendor: Prophecies (1978)

The Eye of Wendor: Prophecies is the second of two albums by Mandalaband, released in 1978 on Chrysalis. Tracklist: A1. “The Eye of Wendor” (4:43) A2. a. “Florian’s Song” (3:10) —|. b. “Ride to the City” A3. “Almar’s Tower” (1:54) A4. “Like the Wind” (2:41) A5. a. “The Tempest” (1:10) —|. b. “Dawn of a […]

Mandalaband ‎– Mandalaband (1975)

Mandalaband is the first of two albums by the namesake project of symphonic-rock composer David Rohl, recorded with Mancunian musicians and released in 1975 on Chrysalis. Tracklist: A1. “Om Mani Padme Hum – Movement One” (7:46) A2. “Om Mani Padme Hum – Movement Two” (4:34) A3. “Om Mani Padme Hum – Movement Three” (3:29) A4. […]

Sad Café ‎– Fanx Ta’ra (1977)

Fanx Ta’ra is the debut album by Mancunian art-rock/soul ensemble Sad Café, released in 1977 on RCA Victor. Tracklist: A1. “Babylon” A2. “Shellshock” A3. “Hungry Eyes” A4. “Shadow on the Wall” A5. “Black Rose” B1. “The Further Adventures of Mad Alan” B2. “Fanx Ta’Ra” B3. “Flingus’ Holiday” B4. “Immortal” B5. “Sail On” B6. “Clumbidextrous” B7. […]