The Soul of the City

The Soul of the City was a South African jazz-funk/soul studio project that accounted for three mid-1970s albums with variants of the title City Soul. The first release in the series is a 1974 all-star compilation on Satbel-imprint Soweto with tracks by Care Free, Margaret Singana, and the Superlove Band. The following two albums are studio recordings for the Jo’Burg and MANDLA labels with input from trumpeter Themba Mehlomakulu, saxophonists Kiepie Moeketsi and Mike Makhalemele, and multi-instrumentalist Trevor Rabin, whose band Rabbitt backed Makhalemele on his 1976 Jo’Burg release The Bull and the Lion with saxist Winston Mankunku Ngozi.

Members: Kiepie Moeketsi (Alto Saxophone), Kevin Kruger (Drums, Percussion), Malcolm Watson (Guitar), Patric Van Blerk (Producer), Trevor Rabin (Producer, Guitar, Keyboards, Bass, Vibraphone), Allan Goldberg (Producer, Engineer), Mike Makhalemele (Tenor Saxophone), Themba Mehlomakulu (Trumpet)


  • City Soul ‎(1974)
  • City Soul and Diagonal Street Blues (1975)
  • City Soul and the Diagonal Street Blues ‎(?)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *