The Soul of the City

The Soul of the City was a South African jazz-funk/soul studio project that accounted for three mid-1970s albums with variants of the title City Soul. The first release in the series is a 1974 all-star compilation on Satbel-imprint Soweto with tracks by Care Free, Margaret Singana, and the Superlove Band. The following two albums are […]


Roots were a South African jazz-funk band that released two albums on Highway Soul in 1975. Members: Barney Rachabane (alto saxophone), Dennis Mpale (trumpet), Duke Makhasa (tenor saxophone), Sipho Gumede (bass), Peter Morake (drums), Jabu Nkosi (organ) Discography: Roots (1975) Deeper Roots (1975)

Movement in the City

Movement in the City were a South African jazz-funk band from Johannesburg that released two albums on The Sun label between 1979 and 1981. Members: Pops Mohamed (keyboards), Basil Coetzee (tenor saxophone), Robbie Jansen (alto saxophone), Sipho Gumede (bass), Roger Harry (drums), Gilbert Mathews (drums, 1979) Discography: Movement in the City (1979) Black Teardrops (1981)

Spirits Rejoice

Spirits Rejoice were a South African jazz-funk band that released the album African Spaces on Atlantic in 1977, followed by Spirits Rejoice! on Jo’Burg in 1978. Members: George Tyefumani (trumpet, percussion, vocals), Thabo Mashishi (trumpet), Duke Makasi (tenor/soprano saxophone), Robbie Jansen (vocals, flute, alto saxophone), Mervyn Africa (piano, Fender Rhodes electric piano, ARP synthesizer, strings), […]


Circus were a South African hard-rock/pop band from Port Elizabeth that released the album In the Arena with two accompanying singles on EMI-subsidiary Sunshine Records in 1977. The members also handled instrumental chores on the studio recordings by contemporaneous girl band Clout. Members: Bernie Millar (vocals), Bones Brettell (keyboards), Gary van Zyl (bass), Sandy Robbie […]


Kabasa were a South African funk band from Soweto that released two albums on Atlantic in 1980/81, followed by a third on Lyncell Records in 1982. Members: Robert “Doc” Mthalane (guitar), Tata “TNT” Sibeko (bass, vocals), Oupa Segwai (percussion) Discography: Kabasa (1980) Searching (1981) African Sunset (1982)