The Beautiful South

The Beautiful South were an English sophisti-pop band from Kingston upon Hull that debuted with the album Welcome to the Beautiful South on Go! Discs in 1989, followed by nine further discs during the ensuing 16-year period. Vocalist/songwriter Paul Heaton and drummer David Hemingway hailed from The Housemartins. On their sophomoric 1990 release Choke, the band were joined by ex-Rough Diamond/Champion keyboardist Damon Butcher, fresh from his sideman stint with Everything But the Girl.

Members: Paul Heaton (vocals), David Hemingway (drums, vocals), David Stead (drums), David Rotheray (guitar), Sean Welch (bass), Briana Corrigan (vocals, 1990-92), Jacqui Abbott (vocals, 1994-2000), Alison “Lady” Wheeler (vocals, 2003-07)


  • Welcome to the Beautiful South (1989)
  • Choke (1990)
  • 0898 Beautiful South (1992)
  • Miaow (1994)
  • Blue Is the Colour (1996)
  • Quench (1998)
  • Painting It Red (2000)
  • Gaze (2003)
  • Golddiggas, Headnodders & Pholk Songs (2004)
  • Superbi (2006)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *