Mother’s Finest

Mother’s Finest were an American funk-rock band from Atlanta that released a self-titled album on RCA Victor in 1973, followed by five studio albums and a live disc on Epic between 1976 and 1983. The band reappeared with an album on Capitol in 1989 and remained sporadically active during the subsequent three decades.

Members: Joyce Kennedy (lead vocals, percussion), Glenn “Murdock” Bailey (lead vocals, percussion), Jerry “Wyzard” Seay (bass, vocals), James Gary “Moses Mo” Moore (guitar, vocals, percussion, 1972-90, 2004-present), Michael Keck (keyboards, 1972-80), Donny Vosburgh (drums, 1972-74), Barry “B.B. Queen” Borden (drums, percussion, 1974-82), Harold Seay (drums, percussion, 1983), Dion Derek (drums, guitar, 1989-2004, 2013-present), John Hayes (guitar, 1990-present), Ace Baker (keyboards, 1993)


  • Mother’s Finest (1973)
  • Mother’s Finest (1976)
  • Another Mother Further (1977)
  • Mother Factor (1978)
  • Live (1979)
  • Iron Age (1981)
  • One Mother to Another (1983)
  • Looks Could Kill (1989)
  • Black Radio Won’t Play This Record (1992)
  • Subluxation (1993)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *