Arco Iris

Arco Iris are an Argentine folk-rock/art-rock quartet with a prolific 1970s output and a sporadic body of subsequent work. The band released six studio albums between 1970 and 1977, including the ambitious double-LPs Sudamérica o el Regreso a la Aurora and Agitor Lucens V. Mastering the chromatic fluidity and epic grandeur of symphonic jazz-rock, the band made their ultimate artistic statement with 1977’s Los Elementales.

Members: Ara Tokatlián (wind instruments, keyboards, vocals), Guillermo Bordarampé (bass), Gustavo Santaolalla (guitar, vocals), Alberto Cascino (drums, 1969-70), Horacio Gianello (drums, percussion, 1971-?)


  • Arco Iris (1970)
  • Sudamérica o el Regreso a la Aurora (1972)
  • Tiempo de Resurrección (1972)
  • Inti Raymi (1973)
  • Agitor Lucens V (1975)
  • Los Elementales (1977)
  • Faisán Azul (1983)
  • Peace Pipes (1988)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *