Sui Generis

Sui Generis were an Argentine folk-rock combo that recorded three studio albums and a two-volume live set between 1972 and 1975. The band were initially a duo comprised of keyboardist/vocalist Charly García and guitarist/vocalist Nito Mestre. The pair were augmented in the studio by assorted come-and-go players. Members: Charly García (keyboards, vocals), Nito Mestre (vocals, […]

Soda Stereo

Soda Stereo were an Argentine New Wave/art-pop trio of multi-instrumentalists, formed in 1982. Between the mid-’80s and early ’90s, the trio was popular in the Spanish-speaking market. Over the span of 13 years, the band released seven studio albums and three live sets. Members: Gustavo Cerati (vocals, guitar, sampler, synthesizer, effects, percussion, fretless bass, keyboards, […]


Tantor were an Argentine jazz-rock combo that released two albums on the Philips and Raviol labels between 1979 and 1982. The band’s two mainstays — guitarist Héctor Starc and drummer Rodolfo García — both hailed from Aquelarre. Original bassist Carlos Alberto Machi Rufino had been with Invisible. Members: Héctor Starc (guitar), Rodolfo García (drums), Carlos Alberto Machi […]


V8 were an Argentine metal band that released three albums on Umbral between 1983 and 1986.  Members: Ricardo Iorio (bass, vocals), Ricardo “Chofa” Moreno (guitar, 1980-82), Gerardo Osemberg (drums, 1980-81), Alejandro “Pesadilla” Colantonio (drums, 1981-82), Alberto “Beto” Zamarbide (vocals, 1982-87), Osvaldo Civile (guitar, 1982-85), Gustavo Rowek (drums, 1982-87), Miguel Roldán (guitar, 1985-87), Walter Giardino (guitar, […]


Sumo were an Argentine New Wave/art-punk band that was active during the 1980s. Between 1985 and 1989, they released four albums on CBS. The band’s first drummer, Stephanie Nuttal, hailed from Manchester, England, and had played in the avant-punk combo Manicured Noise. Members: Luca Prodan (vocals, guitar), Germán Daffunchio (guitar), Alejandro Sokol (bass, drums, 1981-84), […]


Polifemo were an Argentine hard-rock/jazz-rock band that released two albums on EMI during 1976 and 1977. The band was comprised of noted journeymen on the Buenos Aires scene, including guitarist/vocalist David Lebón (Color Humano, Pescado Rabioso, Pappo’s Blues), bassist Rinaldo Rafanelli (Color Humano, Sui Generis), and keyboardist Ciro Fogliatta (Los Gatos, Sacramento, Espíritu). Members: David […]

Spinetta Jade

Spinetta Jade were an Argentine super-band that released four albums between 1980 and 1984. Anchored by namesake vocalist/guitarist Luis Alberto Spinetta, the band featured a revolving door of established and up-and-coming talent on the Buenos Aires scene. This was the frontman’s fourth major band in a decade, having earlier headed Almendra, Pescado Rabioso, and Invisible. […]


Soluna were an Argentine folk ensemble that released one album, Energía Natura, on  Microfón in 1977. Frontman Gustavo Santaolalla would show up five years later in LA New Wave act Wet Picnic and later gain renown as a soundtrack composer. Keyboardist Alejandro Lerner has since recorded more than 15 studio albums. Members: Gustavo Santaolalla (vocals, guitar, […]

Serú Girán

Serú Girán were an Argentine art-pop quartet that released four albums between 1978 and 1981. This was the fourth band in under a decade fronted by Charly García, who had also headed Sui Generis, PorSuiGieco, and La Máquina de Hacer Pájaros. Members: Charly García (keyboards, guitar, vocals), David Lebón (guitar, vocals), Pedro Aznar (bass, keyboards, […]

Rodolfo Alchourrón

Rodolfo Alchourrón (April 25, 1934 — May 16, 1999) was an Argentinian jazz guitarist, composer, arranger, and bandleader with a recording career that spanned nearly four decades. One of his earliest recorded appearances was on the track “Demasiado Tarde” on the 1960 Menorama EP by Agrupacion Nuevo Jazz. In 1966, he played in Trío Eduardo […]