Debra Laws ‎– Very Special (1981)

Very Special is the first of two solo albums recorded to date by American session vocalist Debra Laws, released in 1981 on Elektra. The album features instrumental contributions from her brothers Hubert and Ronnie Laws, who served as co-producers. Sister Eloise Laws provides backing vocals on the track “Long as We’re Together.”

A1. “On My Own” (4:19)
A2. “Meant for You” (3:59)
A3. “Very Special” (4:28)
A4. “Be Yourself” (5:00)
B1. “Long as We’re Together” (4:21)
B2. “Your Love” (3:42)
B3. “How Long” (4:02)
B4. “All the Things I Love” (3:55)

Arranged By [Strings, Horns] – Frank Kavelin
Backing Vocals – Gwen Gwenchee Matthews (A2, A4, B2, B3, B4), Marlena Jeter (A2, A4, B2, B3, B4), Eloise Laws (B1)
Bass – Nathan East (A1, A2, A4, B1, B3, B4)
Drums – Leon Ndugu Chancler (A1, A2, B1, B3)
Guitar – Roland Bautista (A1, A2, A4, B1, B2, B4)
Piano – Bobby Lyle (A1, A2, A4, B1 to B4)
Synthesizer, Arranged By [Arp] – Larry Dunn (A1, A4, B1, B2, B4)
Saxophone – Ronnie Laws (A1, A3, A4)
Vocals – Debra Laws

Producer – Hubert Laws, Ronnie Laws
Engineer – Gerry E. Brown
Photography By – Ron Slenzak
Art Direction – Norm Ung, Ron Coro