Soft Cell

Soft Cell was an English electro-pop duo from Leeds, composed of singer–lyricist Marc Almond and keyboardist–programmer Dave Ball. They cut multiple singles in advance of their 1981 debut album Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret, which spawned the international hit “Tainted Love” and the club staples “Bedsitter” and “Sex Dwarf.” A visual accompaniment to the album, Non-Stop Exotic […]

Marc Almond

Marc Almond is an English vocalist, songwriter, and arranger from Southport, Merseyside, who rose to fame as one-half of the synthpop duo Soft Cell, which released three albums between 1981 and 1984. Concurrently, he released two 1982–83 albums with the goth–cabaret side-project Marc and the Mambas. As a solo artist, he released nine full-length studio […]

Marc Almond ‎– The Stars We Are (1988)

The Stars We Are is the fourth solo album by English art-pop vocalist/arranger Marc Almond, released in 1988 on Capitol/Parlophone. Tracklist: 1. “The Stars We Are” (3:44) 2. “These My Dreams Are Yours” (5:28) 3. “Bitter Sweet” (3:20) 4. “Only the Moment” (4:41) 5. “Your Kisses Burn” (4:43) 6. “The Very Last Pearl” (4:45) 7. […]

Marc Almond with the Willing Sinners ‎– Mother Fist and Her Five Daughters (1987)

Mother Fist and Her Five Daughters is the third full-length solo album by English art-pop vocalist/arranger Marc Almond, recorded with his makeshift studio ensemble the Willing Sinners. The album was released in 1987 on Virgin. Tracklist: 1. “Mother Fist” (4:29) 2. “There Is a Bed” (4:50) 3. “Saint Judy” (5:53) 4. “The Room Below” (3:30) […]

Marc and the Mambas ‎– Torment and Toreros (1983)

Torment and Toreros is a double album by English cabaret/art-pop project Marc and the Mambas, produced by frontman Marc Almond and released in 1983 on Some Bizzare. Tracklist: A1. “Intro” (3:17) A2. “Boss Cat” (4:17) A3. “The Bulls” (2:18) A4. “Catch a Fallen Star” (5:12) A5. “The Animal in You” (7:29) B1. “In My Room” […]

Soft Cell ‎– Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret (1981)

Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret is the debut album by English synthpop duo Soft Cell, released in 1981 on Some Bizzare/Sire. Tracklist: A1. “Frustration” (4:11) A2. “Tainted Love” (2:34) A3. “Seedy Films” (5:04) A4. “Youth” (3:15) A5. “Sex Dwarf” (5:18) B1. “Entertain Me” (3:35) B2. “Chips οn My Shoulder” (4:05) B3. “Bedsitter” (3:34) B4. “Secret Life” (3:37) […]