Jerry Goodman

Jerry Goodman (born March 16, 1949) is an American violinist from Chicago who played in jazz-psych pioneers The Flock during the late 1960s. Between 1971 and 1973, he played in the first lineup of the Mahavishnu Orchestra, appearing on the albums The Inner Mounting Flame and Birds of Fire. Discography: Like Children (1974 • Jerry […]

Mahavishnu Orchestra

The Mahavishnu Orchestra were a multinational jazz-rock ensemble that was active during the early-to-mid-1970s and again during the mid-1980s. Led through all phases by English guitarist John McLaughlin, the lineup underwent two incarnations between 1971 and 1976. The first incarnation was a five-piece band with Czech keyboardist Jan Hammer, Irish bassist Rick Laird, and two […]

Mahavishnu Orchestra ‎– Birds of Fire (1973)

Birds of Fire is the second studio album by multinational jazz-rock ensemble the Mahavishnu Orchestra, released in 1973 on Columbia Records. Tracklist: A1. “Birds of Fire” (5:44) A2. “Miles Beyond (Miles Davis)” (4:41) A3. “Celestial Terrestrial Commuters” (2:55) A4. “Sapphire Bullets of Pure Love” (0:21) A5. “Thousand Island Park” (3:21) A6. “Hope” (1:57) B1. “One […]

The Flock

The Flock were an American jazz-rock/psych band from Chicago that released two albums on CBS/Columbia during 1969 and 1970. Members: Fred Glickstein (guitar, vocals), Ron Karpman (drums, vocals), Jerry Smith (bass, vocals), Rick Canoff (saxophone, vocals, 1966-70), Rick Mann (guitar, vocals, 1966-68), Frank Posa (trumpet, 1967-70), Tom Webb (saxophone, flute, harmonica, vocals, 1967-70), Jerry Goodman […]

Jerry Goodman & Jan Hammer ‎– Like Children (1974)

Like Children is a jazz-rock collaborative album between American violinist Jerry Goodman and Czech keyboardist Jan Hammer, released in 1974 on Nemperor. The album is a self-contained effort recorded just after the pair’s departure from the Mahavishnu Orchestra. Tracklist: A1. “Country and Eastern Music” (5:34) A2. “No Fear” (3:28) A3. “I Remember Me” (3:47) A4. […]

The Mahavishnu Orchestra with John McLaughlin ‎– The Inner Mounting Flame (1971)

The Inner Mounting Flame is the debut album by multinational jazz-rock ensemble the Mahavishnu Orchestra, released in 1971 on Columbia Records. Tracklist: A1. “Meeting of the Spirits” (6:50) A2. “Dawn” (5:15) A3. “The Noonward Race” (6:27) A4. “A Lotus on Irish Streams” (5:41) B1. “Vital Transformation” (6:14) B2. “The Dance of Maya” (7:15) B3. “You […]