Vienna Art Orchestra

Vienna Art Orchestra were an Austrian avant-jazz big band from Wien that released the album Tango From Obango on Art Records in 1980, followed by five albums apiece on Hat Hut and Moers Music between 1981 and 1988.

Members: Anna Lauvergnac (vocals), Tobias Weidinger (trumpet), Matthieu Michel (trumpet), Stephan Zimmermann (trumpet), Juraj Bartoš (trumpet), Adrian Mears (trombone), Robert Bachner (trombone), Dominik Stöger (trombone), Ed Partyka (bass trombone, tuba), Mauro Negri (alto saxophone, clarinet, soprano saxophone, flute), Joris Roelofs (alto saxophone, clarinet, flute), Harry Sokal (tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone), Andy Scherrer (tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone, piano), Herwig Gradischnig (baritone saxophone, tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone, clarinet, bass clarinet), Martin Koller (guitar, electronics), Georg Breinschmid (double bass), Ingrid Oberkanins (percussion), Mario Gonzi (drums), Ronny Matky (sound effects), Herbert Joos (flugel horn, trumpet)


  • Tango From Obango (1980)
  • Concerto Piccolo (1981)
  • From No Art to Mo(z)art (1983)
  • From No Time to Rag Time (1983)
  • The Minimalism of Erik Satie (1984)
  • A Notion in Perpetual Motion (1985)
  • Nightride of a Lonely Saxophoneplayer (live, 1985)
  • Nightride of a Lonely Saxophoneplayer: Part 1 (1986)
  • Nightride of a Lonely Saxophoneplayer Vol. 2 (1986)
  • Serapionmusic (1986)
  • Two Little Animals (1986)
  • Inside Out (1987)
  • Swiss Swing (1987)
  • Blues for Brahms (1989)
  • Suite for the Green Eighties (1990)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *