Material were an American avant-rock/No Wave band from NYC that released three EPs on small-press Red Records between 1979 and 1981, followed by two albums on Celluloid in 1981/82.

Members: Bill Laswell (bass), Fred Maher (drums), Michael Beinhorn (keyboards), Cliff Cultreri (guitar), William S. Burroughs (voice), Nicky Skopelitis (guitar), Shankar (violin), Simon Shaheen (violin), Jeff Bova (keyboards), Sly Dunbar (drums), Foday Musa Suso (kora, dousongonni, guitar, percussion, vocal), Bernie Worrell (keyboards), Aiyb Dieng (percussion), Ginger Baker (drums), Fred Frith (guitar), Charles Noyes (percussion), David Moss (percussion), Mark Miller (percussion), Wayne Shorter (saxophone), Bootsy Collins (bass)


  • Temporary Music 1 (EP, 1979)
  • Temporary Music 2 (EP, 1981)
  • American Songs (EP, 1981)
  • Memory Serves (1981)
  • One Down (1982)
  • Seven Souls (1989)
  • The Third Power (1991)
  • Hallucination Engine (1994)
  • The Road to the Western Lands (remixes, 1998)
  • Intonarumori (1999)
  • Apocalypse Live (2017 • The Master Musicians of Jajouka Led by Bachir Attar with Material)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *