Fat Larry’s Band

Fat Larry’s Band were an American soul-funk band from Philadelphia that released six albums between 1976 and 1982: including three on WMOT Records and two on its eventual parent Fantasy Records. The band’s second album, Off the Wall, appeared on Stax in 1977. A late-period U.K. breakthrough yielded a seventh album on Virgin in 1983, followed by an eighth and final album on Omni in 1986.

Members: Larry James (vocals, drums), Art Capehart (trumpet, flute), Doug Jones (saxophone), Jimmy Lee (trombone, alto saxophone), Ted Cohen (guitar), Darryl Grant (vocals, percussion), Larry La Bes (bass), Erskine Williams (keyboards), Cuca, Anthony Middleton, Arthur Austin, Butch Harper, Melvin El


  • Feel It (1976)
  • Off the Wall (1977)
  • Spacin’ Out (1978)
  • Bright City Lights: The Best of Fat Larry’s Band Plus (1979)
  • Lookin’ for Love (1979)
  • Stand Up (1980)
  • Breakin’ Out (1982)
  • Straight From the Heart (1983)
  • Nice (1986)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *