Cymande were a multi-national funk-psych band assembled in London, England, by Guyanese musicians Steve Scipio and Patrick Patterson. The band released three albums on Janus Records between 1972 and 1974, followed by a fourth on Paul Winley Records in 1981.

Members: Ray King (vocals, percussion), Steve Scipio (bass), Derek Gibbs (soprano saxophone, alto saxophone), Pablo Gonsales (congas), Joey Dee (vocals, percussion), Peter Serreo (tenor saxophone), Sam Kelly (drums), Mike Rose (alto saxophone, flute, bongos), Patrick Patterson (guitar)


  • Cymande (1972)
  • Second Time Round (1973)
  • Promised Heights (1974)
  • Arrival (1981)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *