McGuinness Flint

McGuinness Flint were an English folk-rock combo that released two albums on Capitol in 1970 and 1971, followed by a second pair of albums on Bronze in 1973/74. The band was formed by namesakes Tom McGuinness (bass) and Hughie Flint (drums), who respectively hailed from Manfred Mann and John Mayall’s Bluesbreakers. The first two albums feature the singing/songwriting talents of Benny Gallagher and Graham Lyle, who later gained fame as a duo.

Members: Tom McGuinness (bass, guitar, vocals), Hughie Flint (drums, vocals), Benny Gallagher (guitar, vocals, 1967-71), Graham Lyle (guitar, vocals, 1967-71), Dennis Coulson (guitar, keyboards, vocals, 1967-71), Dixie Dean (bass, harmonica, 1971-75), Neil Innes (multi-instruments, 1971), John Bailey (1971), Jim Evans (guitar, steel guitar, violin, 1972-75), Lou Stonebridge (guitar, harmonica, keyboards, vocals, 1972-75)


  • McGuinness Flint (1970)
  • Happy Birthday, Ruthy Baby (1971)
  • Rainbow (1973)
  • C’est la vie (1974)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *