Black Smoke

Blacksmoke were an American soul-funk band from Compton, Calif., that released a self-titled album on Chocolate City in 1976. The band was originally called Smoke but modified their name for the album’s release, presumably to avoid confusion with the namesake soul act from Kansas City.

Members: Michael Fisher (guitar, vocals), Anthony Fisher (bass, vocals), Arnold N. Riggs, Jr. (lead vocals), Rodney Thompson (keyboards, background vocals), Bradford Henry Thoelke III (bass trombone, background vocals), Cliff Ervin (trumpet, flugel horn, background vocals), Buddy McDaniel (tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone, flute, background vocals), Raymond Genovese (drums)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *