The Southside Movement

The Southside Movement were an American soul-funk band from Chicago that issued a self-titled album on Wand in 1973, followed by two 1974/75 albums on 20th Century Records.

Members: Melvin Moore (vocals), Bobby Pointer (guitar), Morris Beeks (keyboards), Ronald Simmons (bass), Willie Hayes (drums), Milton Johnson (alto saxophone), Stephen Hawkins (trumpet), Bill McFarland (trombone)


  • The South Side Movement (1973)
  • Movin’ (1974)
  • Moving South (1975)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *