Strutt was an American soul-funk band from New Jersey that released the album Time Moves On on Brunswick Records in 1976.

Members: Carmen Cosentino (guitar), Dickie Harman (vocals), Edward Walker (bass), Frank Portolana (organ), Jim Mecke (alto saxophone, flute), Joe Escobar (trombone), Roger Zumbo (drums), Ronald T. Jones (vocals)

Strutt was assembled in 1973 by guitarist Carmen Cosentino. They were taken under the wing of veteran composer/arranger Benny Clark, who coordinated their recording sessions at NYC’s O.D.O. Studios.

Strutt’s singular album, Time Moves On, was released in 1976 on Brunswick Records. It features eight distinct songs, including Cosentino‘s “Funky Sign” and “Front Row Romeo.” Clark co-wrote three tracks, including “Funky Baby Feet” and “If Wishing Made It So.” The title-track, written by co-producer Dhyana Ziegler, was issued as a single. The octet are joined here by saxophonists Al Johnson and Willie Bridges, percussionist Holly Jones (Ray Alexander Technique, Jimmy Briscoe & The Little Beavers, The Super Disco Band), and trumpeter Danny Moore (Johnny Hammond, Lonnie Smith, Charles Earland, Les McCann, Bobby Hutcherson, Jimmy McGriff). The album was engineered by O.D.O. chief Jack Sherdel (Boffalongo, Lighthouse, The Eliminators, Exit 9).

Strutt followed Time Moves On with the 1977 standalone single “Power of the Pyramid” (b/w “Our Love”) on one-press Sound Trap Records. Bassist Edward Walker notched writer/arranger credits on a pair of 1976/77 singles by singer Jean Shy, released on Fantasy and Playboy.

Time Moves On was first reissued in 2001 on the Japanese Victor label. Three further pressings appeared in the 2010s on Solid Records (Japan) and Demon Records (U.K.)


  • Time Moves On (1976)
  • “Power of the Pyramid” / “Our Love” (1977)


1 thought on “Strutt

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *